Best Engineering Schools in USA for International Students 2027: Rankings, GRE, Fees and PhD Funding

Best Engineering Schools in USA for International Students 2027: Rankings, GRE, Fees and PhD Funding
43 top US graduate engineering schools compared for international students: U.S. News 2026 rank, GRE policy, application fee, PhD funding and deadlines, with links to each full guide.

The best engineering schools in the USA for international students combine a strong research name with funding that does not depend on citizenship, and most of them now let you apply without the GRE. This list covers 43 graduate engineering schools ranked in the U.S. News 2026 Best Engineering Schools list, released on 7 April 2026, from MIT at No. 1 to the four schools tied at No. 50. For each you get the rank, the GRE rule, the application fee international applicants pay, and what PhD students are typically paid.

The single most useful fact for an international engineer is this: at research universities, PhD students are usually funded and master’s students usually are not. A funded PhD covers tuition and pays a salary, while a master’s degree is often paid for out of your own pocket. Each school name below links to our full guide, which gives department deadlines, English test minimums and costs, all checked on the schools’ own pages in October 2026.

CountryUnited States
Schools covered43 graduate engineering schools
Ranking usedU.S. News 2026 Best Engineering Schools
DeadlineMost PhD rounds 1 to 15 Dec 2026

How to read the engineering school tables

  • U.S. News 2026 rank: the graduate engineering rank from the list released in April 2026. Some sources label it 2026-27.
  • GRE policy: GRE rules are set by each department, not the whole school. The cell sums up the departments our guide checked. “Not accepted” means the department will not look at scores even if you send them.
  • International application fee: the fee for applicants who are not US citizens or permanent residents, where the school charges a different rate.
  • PhD funding: the stipend or funding promise our guide found, with the year it applies to. Department rules differ, so treat this as the typical case.
  • College guide: a link to our undergraduate admission guide for the same university, where we have one.

Top 10 engineering schools in the USA for international students

MIT, Stanford and Berkeley lead the 2026 list. Georgia Tech and Purdue tie at No. 4, and Caltech, UIUC and UT Austin tie at No. 6. Caltech’s funding promise is the clearest of the group: every full-time PhD student making progress gets full tuition and fees and a stipend of $50,000 for 12 months from 1 September 2026.

SchoolU.S. News 2026 rankGRE policyInternational application feePhD fundingCollege guide
MIT Engineering#1Not required in most departments$90RA, TA or fellowship pays tuition and a salaryUndergraduate guide
Stanford Engineering#2Varies: not accepted in ME, required in MS&E$125EE: department fellowship in year one in most casesUndergraduate guide
UC Berkeley Engineering#3Not required (EECS, ME); not accepted (CEE)$155Multi-year packages, tuition plus at least $34,000 a yearUndergraduate guide
Georgia Tech Engineering#4 (tie)Optional in ECE$105Most ECE PhD admits get a GRA or GTA with tuition waiverUndergraduate guide
Purdue Engineering#4 (tie)Optional in ME, ECE and CE; required in AAE (waivers exist)$75Stipend floor $28,000 a year (fiscal-year appointments)Undergraduate guide
Caltech EAS#6 (tie)Optional for EAS options (not required in MCE and aerospace)$100Full tuition and fees plus $50,000 for 12 monthsUndergraduate guide
UIUC Grainger#6 (tie)Optional in ECE and CEE; MechSE did not accept it in recent cycles$90Five-year guarantee: tuition waiver, partial fee waiver, stipendUndergraduate guide
UT Austin Cockrell#6 (tie)Not considered in ECE; not required in CAEE; optional in ME; required in aerospace and ORIE$90ECE PhD admits fully supported for the whole degreeUndergraduate guide
UC San Diego Jacobs#9Not required in most departments$155MAE: about $3,600 a month plus tuition and feesUndergraduate guide
Carnegie Mellon Engineering#10Optional (ECE) or not accepted (MechE, CEE, INI)$75ECE: fellowships cover tuition, fees and stipendUndergraduate guide

Fees in this group range from $75 at Purdue and Carnegie Mellon to $155 at the University of California campuses, which charge international applicants more than domestic ones. If you apply to several UC schools, the fees add up quickly, and our UC San Diego guide notes there is no university fee waiver for international applicants.

Engineering schools ranked 11 to 25

This band includes some of the best-paid PhD positions in the country. Penn’s minimum PhD stipend is $49,000 a year from 1 April 2026, Columbia’s minimum for students on appointment was $49,522 for 12 months in 2025-26, and Johns Hopkins Computer Science guarantees full funding with a stipend of about $50,000. Most schools here have dropped the GRE requirement or made it optional, though a few departments still ask for it.

SchoolU.S. News 2026 rankGRE policyInternational application feePhD fundingCollege guide
Cornell Engineering#11Not required; not accepted in MAE$105Stipend at least $36,684 for nine months (2026-27)Undergraduate guide
Michigan Engineering#12Not used for PhD; some MS programmes may ask$90Full funding: tuition waiver, monthly stipend, insuranceUndergraduate guide
Johns Hopkins Whiting#13Not required school-wide; programmes decide how to use scoresNone for master’sCS: full funding with stipend of about $50,000Undergraduate guide
Texas A&M Engineering#14 (tie)Varies by department; optional in Mechanical and ECE$148At least $2,000 a month plus resident tuition and fees paidUndergraduate guide
UCLA Samueli#14 (tie)Department by department; required in MAE, not required in ECE$155Mainly GSR, TA and fellowships; CS funds international PhD admitsUndergraduate guide
Northwestern McCormick#16 (tie)Programme by programme; not required in ECE for fall 2027$95At least five years: stipend, tuition, subsidised insuranceUndergraduate guide
Penn Engineering#16 (tie)Optional for fall 2027$95Minimum stipend $49,000 a year from 1 April 2026Undergraduate guide
Columbia Engineering#18 (tie)Optional for 2027$85Minimum $49,522 for 12 months on appointment (2025-26)Undergraduate guide
CU Boulder Engineering#18 (tie)Set by department (optional or not used in several)$80ECEE: five years of RA funding, $3,460.25 a monthNot yet
Maryland Clark#18 (tie)Optional (ECE, Aerospace, Mechanical, Chemical)$90Minimum 12-month stipend $36,660 (2026-27)Undergraduate guide
USC Viterbi#21Not required for MS; required for PhD only in ASTE and ISE$120 (covers two programmes)Minimum PhD stipend $41,200 a yearUndergraduate guide
Duke Pratt#22 (tie)Optional for MEng and for BME, ECE and MEMS PhDs$105 or $7512-month funding, projected stipend $43,775 (2026-27)Not yet
Harvard SEAS#22 (tie)Optional (required only for MDE and MS/MBA)$105Fully funded, $4,330 a month (2026-27)Undergraduate guide
University of Washington Engineering#22 (tie)Varies: not used in ME and CEE, optional in Bioengineering$90RA or TA salary covering most tuitionUndergraduate guide
Princeton Engineering#25 (tie)Not accepted in MAE and CS; optional in CEE, CBE, ECE$75First-year fellowship $46,200 for 10 months (2026-27)Undergraduate guide
Rice Engineering#25 (tie)No university rule; set by each programmeNot stated (shown at checkout)Tuition waiver and at least $36,000 over 12 monthsUndergraduate guide

Two schools stand out on cost for master’s applicants. Johns Hopkins Whiting charges no application fee for its master’s programmes, and USC Viterbi’s $120 fee covers applications to two Viterbi programmes. On the other side, Texas A&M’s international fee is $148 because it adds an engineering fee to the university fee.

Engineering schools ranked 26 to 50

These schools often give you a better chance of funded admission than the top ten, with stipends that still cover living costs in cheaper cities. Brown guarantees five years of support with a 2025-26 base stipend of $52,198 for 12 months, which is higher than many top-ten figures. Vanderbilt pays from $40,000 a year and charges no fee for its MS. Dayton is the outlier: it states plainly that international graduate and doctoral students are not eligible for its financial aid or merit scholarships.

SchoolU.S. News 2026 rankGRE policyInternational application feePhD fundingCollege guide
UW-Madison Engineering#27Not required in ECE, ME, BME, CBE, CEE$75 plus $6At least $37,417 a year (2026-27) with tuition waivedUndergraduate guide
NC State Engineering#28 (tie)Not required in ECE, MAE, CBE$75Tuition paid, insurance, minimum stipend $20,000 a yearNot yet
Ohio State Engineering#28 (tie)Not required in CSE and ECE; not accepted in MAE$70Full package valued at more than $245,000 over five yearsUndergraduate guide
Penn State Engineering#28 (tie)Optional in ME, Aerospace and EE; not required in Civil$85Assistantships pay stipend, tuition and 80% of insuranceUndergraduate guide
UC Santa Barbara Engineering#28 (tie)Not required in ME; set by each department$155GSR salary plus fees, insurance and nonresident tuitionUndergraduate guide
Virginia Tech Engineering#32Optional in ME and ECE; not required in CS$75Apply by funding priority dates in January 2027Undergraduate guide
UC Davis Engineering#35Not required in most programmes; not accepted in CEE$155Generally four years of full fundingUndergraduate guide
Delaware Engineering#36Not required (ChemE, Materials, ECE)$75Tuition waiver and stipend; minimum $36,000 (2025-26)Not yet
Vanderbilt Engineering#39Not required for spring or fall 2027None for MSFull tuition, insurance, stipend from $40,000Undergraduate guide
ASU Fulton#41Required for PhD; not required for most MS$120TA or RA salary plus tuition award; set by departmentUndergraduate guide
Pitt Swanson#42 (tie)OptionalNot stated (shown in EngineeringCAS)Stipend plus tuition scholarship; master’s usually unfundedUndergraduate guide
UVA Engineering#42 (tie)Optional for all programmesNone at presentTwo departments fund most MS and PhD studentsUndergraduate guide
Rochester Hajim#48Optional in all departments checked$70 ($30 in ME)Full tuition scholarship and stipendUndergraduate guide
Tennessee Tickle#50 (tie)Optional for PhD; not required for master’sNot statedAssistantship stipend, tuition and fee waiver, insuranceNot yet
Dayton Engineering#50 (tie)Not required on the engineering PhD pages checked$50No financial aid or merit for internationalsNot yet
Brown Engineering#50 (tie)Optional for Biomedical Engineering PhD; check your programmeNot statedFive years guaranteed; $52,198 base (2025-26)Undergraduate guide
RPI Engineering#50 (tie)Optional for all engineering programmes$75Tuition waiver and minimum $37,783 (2026-27)Undergraduate guide

Later deadlines are another reason to look at this group. Tennessee’s international deadline for fall 2027 is 15 April 2027 and Dayton’s is 1 June 2027, while Pitt Swanson accepts self-funded applications until 1 April 2027. If you missed December, these schools may still be open, though funding is usually decided earlier.

GRE requirements at US engineering schools

The GRE has largely gone from top engineering admissions, but not everywhere. Based on our guides:

  • Not required in most departments: MIT, UC San Diego, Cornell, Michigan (PhD), Johns Hopkins, Wisconsin, NC State and Vanderbilt.
  • Optional: Penn, Columbia, Maryland, Harvard, Duke (MEng and several PhDs), UVA, Rochester, RPI and Pitt.
  • Not accepted in some departments: Stanford mechanical engineering, Berkeley civil and environmental, Carnegie Mellon mechanical and civil, Cornell mechanical and aerospace, Princeton mechanical and aerospace and computer science, and Ohio State mechanical and aerospace.
  • Still required in some departments: Stanford MS&E, Purdue aeronautics and astronautics (waivers exist), UT Austin aerospace and ORIE, UCLA mechanical and aerospace, Harvard MDE, and ASU Fulton for PhD applicants.

If a department does not accept the GRE, sending a score does nothing. Spend that money on a stronger English test result or on application fees for an extra school instead.

How PhD funding works for international engineering students

A funded engineering PhD in the US usually comes as one of three things: a research assistantship paid from a professor’s grant, a teaching assistantship, or a fellowship. In each case the school covers tuition and pays a monthly stipend, and most add health insurance. Our MIT guide describes exactly this mix, and Northwestern says international PhD students are funded the same way as domestic students.

Master’s funding is a different story. Several guides say so directly: UT Austin’s master’s students are usually self-funded, Pitt says master’s students are generally not considered for funded appointments, and UC Davis expects master’s students to pay about $31,360 a year in non-resident tuition and fees in 2026-27. If you cannot pay for a master’s, applying straight to the PhD is often the realistic route.

For funding from outside the university, see our Fulbright Scholarship guide and our list of American scholarships for international students.

How to apply to US engineering graduate schools from abroad

  1. Pick departments, not schools: deadlines, GRE rules and funding are set by each department, so check the department page for your field.
  2. Contact potential advisers early: at schools where funding comes from grants, a professor who wants you is the main route to a research assistantship.
  3. Prepare the English test: most schools want TOEFL or IELTS unless your degree was taught in English, and some do not accept Duolingo. Northwestern, for example, does not.
  4. Get transcripts evaluated if asked: Dayton, for example, asks for a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member.
  5. Write a research statement: explain the problem you want to work on, what you have already done, and which faculty you would work with.
  6. Submit by the funding deadline: most PhD deadlines fall between 1 and 15 December 2026 for fall 2027, and late applications usually miss funding.

Common mistakes international engineering applicants make

  • Applying for a master’s expecting funding: at most of these schools, master’s students pay their own way.
  • Reading the school’s GRE rule instead of the department’s: two departments in the same school can have opposite rules.
  • Missing the fellowship round: some departments, such as Ohio State CSE, set an earlier date for fellowship consideration.
  • Counting on a fee waiver: many schools offer few or no waivers to international applicants.
  • Writing a generic statement: faculty read for fit with their own research, so name the labs and problems you want to work on.

FAQs on engineering schools in the USA for international students

Which US engineering schools do not require the GRE?

Most top schools no longer require it. MIT, UC San Diego, Cornell, Johns Hopkins, Wisconsin, NC State and Vanderbilt do not require it in most departments, and several departments at Stanford, Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon and Princeton will not accept scores at all.

Do international students get fully funded engineering PhDs in the USA?

Yes. Most schools here fund PhD students through assistantships or fellowships that cover tuition and pay a stipend, often $35,000 to $50,000 a year. Dayton is an exception in our list, as it gives internationals no aid.

What is the application fee for US engineering graduate schools?

Fees in our list run from nothing (Johns Hopkins master’s, Vanderbilt MS, UVA at present) to $155 at the University of California campuses. Most schools charge between $75 and $105.

When are US engineering PhD deadlines for fall 2027?

Most PhD deadlines fall between 1 and 15 December 2026, with some running into January 2027. Master’s deadlines are often later, from January to March 2027, and a few schools accept applications until April or June 2027.

Sources and updates

Ranks come from the U.S. News 2026 Best Engineering Schools list, released on 7 April 2026, as recorded in each of our school guides. GRE rules, fees, stipends and deadlines come from each school’s graduate admissions, department and graduate school finance pages, checked for the individual guides in October 2026. Stipend figures carry the year stated in the table. We will update this list when schools publish 2027-28 stipends and when U.S. News releases its next edition.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like