Penn Engineering graduate admission for international students comes down to a short checklist: an online application with a $95 fee, a personal statement of two pages or less, two recommendation letters (three for the CIS PhD and the Bioengineering Medical Physics concentration), a resume, unofficial transcripts and an English test score unless you qualify for a waiver. The GRE is optional this cycle. For fall 2027 entry, the PhD deadline is 15 December 2026, the master’s regular deadline is 1 February 2027, and four master’s programmes (CIS, Data Science, Robotics and MAS-CS) have an early deadline of 1 November 2026.
Penn Engineering, formally the School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS) at the University of Pennsylvania, is tied at No. 16 in the U.S. News 2026 Best Engineering Schools ranking. The money picture is very different for the two degree types. PhD students are fully funded for as long as they stay in good standing. Master’s students mostly pay their own way: Penn says plainly that it “generally does not provide financial assistance” to master’s students, and tuition alone is $8,825 per course unit in 2026-27.
Penn Engineering at a glance
- School: School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Pennsylvania (an Ivy League university in Philadelphia).
- Ranking: No. 16 (tied) in Best Engineering Schools, U.S. News 2026 Best Graduate Schools edition, released 7 April 2026.
- Doctoral programmes: six PhD graduate groups on the Philadelphia campus.
- Master’s programmes: sixteen on-campus master’s programmes plus three online ones.
- Application fee: $95, non-refundable.
- GRE: optional for the current cycle.
- English tests: TOEFL iBT, IELTS or Duolingo; recommended (not required) minimums of 100, 7.5 and 135.
- PhD funding: tuition, fees, single health and dental insurance and a stipend for the length of the programme.
- Master’s funding: generally none from the school; a few named scholarships exist.
Penn Engineering ranking in the U.S. News 2026 edition
U.S. News published its 2026 Best Graduate Schools list on 7 April 2026 (some outlets label it the 2026-27 list). Penn Engineering sits at No. 16, tied with Northwestern’s McCormick School of Engineering. The next school down the list is No. 18, where Columbia, CU Boulder and Maryland share the spot. U.S. News’s own profile page could not be opened for this guide, so the rank comes from VnExpress International’s published top 30 of 9 April 2026, which places Penn unnumbered directly after the No. 16 entry and before No. 18.
The overall rank is useful for shortlisting, but for a PhD the faculty in your exact research area matter more than the school’s position. Admissions committees for each PhD group look closely at whether two or three named professors could supervise you.
Graduate engineering programmes at Penn
Penn lists the following graduate groups on the Philadelphia campus.
| Level | Programmes |
|---|---|
| PhD | Bioengineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Computer and Information Science; Electrical and Systems Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering; Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics |
| On-campus master’s | Bioengineering; Biotechnology; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Computer Graphics and Game Technology; Computer and Information Science; Computer and Information Technology (MCIT); Data Science; Electrical Engineering; Energy and Sustainability Engineering; Integrated Product Design; Materials Science and Engineering; Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics; Nanotechnology; Robotics; Scientific Computing; Systems Engineering |
| Online master’s | MCIT Online; MSE in Artificial Intelligence; MSE in Data Science |
Most on-campus master’s degrees are an MSE (Master of Science in Engineering). As one example of structure, the Materials Science MSE needs 10 course units at the 5000 level or above and offers a thesis track (7 course units plus 3 research units) as well as course-only options. Check your own programme’s handbook for its unit count, since tuition is charged per course unit.
Penn Engineering admission requirements for international students
Every applicant submits the same core package through the SEAS online application.
- Application form and fee: $95, paid online. Automatic waivers cover only low-income US citizens and permanent residents, people with Penn or US military ties, and certain Accelerated Master’s applicants. There is no general fee waiver for international applicants.
- Personal statement: two pages or less. Penn asks you to cover six points: why you want the programme, your qualifications, how you would benefit, what you would add to the community, why you are likely to succeed, and your goals after the degree. Integrated Product Design applicants answer separate questions.
- Recommendations: two letters, and at least one must come from a faculty member who knows your academic work. The CIS PhD and the Bioengineering PhD Medical Physics concentration need three.
- Resume or CV.
- Unofficial transcripts: from every institution where you earned credit, in English, showing your name, courses, credit hours, grades and a grading key. Official transcripts are needed only after you are admitted and decide to enrol.
- GRE (optional): if you send scores, use institution code 2888. Scores must be under five years old and official scores must arrive by the deadline.
- English proficiency: TOEFL iBT (code 2888, at-home test accepted), IELTS or the Duolingo English Test, taken by the deadline.
English test minimums and waivers
Penn gives recommended minimums rather than hard cut-offs: TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.5 and Duolingo 135. You can ask for a waiver if, by the time you enrol, you have graduated from a US programme, studied at a school in a country where English is an official language, or graduated from an institution that taught in English and says so on your transcript. A waiver can take 3 to 5 business days to show on your application checklist. Many West and East African applicants qualify under the official-language or medium-of-instruction rules, but make sure your transcript or a university letter states that English was the language of instruction.
Penn Engineering deadlines for fall 2027
All deadlines are 11:59 p.m. Eastern time.
| Programme | Deadline | Decision |
|---|---|---|
| PhD (all six groups) | 15 December 2026 | Spring 2027 |
| Master’s early round: CIS, Data Science, Robotics, MAS-CS | 1 November 2026 | Rolling |
| All master’s programmes, regular round | 1 February 2027 | By 1 April 2027 |
Master’s applications are reviewed on a rolling basis, so a complete file in December or early January is read earlier than one sent in the last week.
Early master’s deadline
If you want CIS, Data Science or Robotics, the early round closes on 1 November 2026. Your recommenders need time to upload letters, so send their requests now even if you plan to submit on the last day.
PhD funding at Penn Engineering
Penn says admitted doctoral students get full funding for the duration of the programme while they remain in good academic standing. The package covers tuition and fees, single health insurance, single dental insurance and an annual stipend. Funding comes from department money, faculty research grants, training grants and outside fellowships, and the offer letter states the details.
| PhD funding item (2026-27) | Amount |
|---|---|
| Engineering PhD tuition and fees, full rate (covered by the package) | $52,660 |
| University minimum PhD stipend from 1 April 2026 | $49,000 a year |
| Agreed minimum from 1 July 2027 | $50,470 a year |
The $49,000 minimum comes from Penn’s student financial services page. The 2027 figure comes from the agreement between Penn and its graduate workers’ union reported by The Daily Pennsylvanian in February 2026. Individual departments may pay more than the floor.
Bioengineering adds a one-time $3,000 bonus for students who win an outside individual fellowship. Several internal fellowships, such as the Fontaine and Ashton awards, are limited to US citizens or permanent residents, so an international PhD student’s funding will normally be a research or teaching assistantship rather than a named fellowship. The Vingroup doctoral scholarship covers half of the funding for Vietnamese applicants aged 35 or under.
Master’s funding and named scholarships
Expect to self-fund a Penn master’s. Federal loans and the merit-based Penn Engineering Graduate Scholarship are for US citizens and permanent residents only. You can look for a teaching assistant post or part-time lab work after you arrive, but these are found through your department and are not promised at admission.
| Scholarship | What it gives | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|
| Khan Fellowship | One-time $8,500 tuition credit in year one | Preference for applicants with ties to listed humanitarian settings, then South or Central Asia, North Africa or Eastern Africa |
| Ihsuk Shin Endowed Scholarship | One-time $9,000 tuition credit in year one | Preference for graduates of Seoul National, Yonsei, Harvard, Rice and Penn |
| Vingroup Scholarship (master’s) | Full tuition, fees and living stipend | Vietnamese students aged 30 or under |
| Jorge and Maria Rosas Scholarship | Full tuition and fees | One ITBA (Buenos Aires) graduate nominated each year |
| Haidas/Goldman Sachs Dean’s Master’s Fellowship | Not stated | Not stated |
The Khan Fellowship is the one most relevant to many African applicants, because North and Eastern Africa are named in its preference order. Its value covers only a small part of a year’s tuition.
Penn Engineering tuition and cost of attendance for 2026-27
Penn charges master’s tuition per course unit (CU). The figures below are Penn’s 2026-27 on-campus master’s budget.
| Item | Per term at 4 CU |
|---|---|
| Tuition ($8,825 per CU) | $35,300 |
| General fee | $2,134 |
| Technology fee | $405 |
| Clinical fee | $385 |
| Total tuition and fees | $38,224 |
Penn’s living budget for fall 2026 and spring 2027 together is $28,484: housing $12,978, food $5,988, books and supplies $1,412, personal costs $2,008, transport $1,080 and health insurance $5,018. If you take 4 CU in each of the two terms, a year comes to roughly $76,448 in tuition and fees plus $28,484 for living, or about $104,932 (my arithmetic from Penn’s figures). A 10 CU degree costs $88,250 in tuition alone before fees.
STEM OPT after a Penn engineering degree
Engineering master’s and PhD degrees fall under CIP codes on the US Department of Homeland Security STEM Designated Degree Program List. On an F-1 visa that means you can usually work for 12 months on OPT after graduating and then apply for the 24-month STEM OPT extension, as long as your employer is enrolled in E-Verify. Confirm the CIP code printed on your I-20 with Penn’s international student office before you accept an offer.
How to contact potential PhD advisers at Penn
Penn does not require you to secure an adviser before applying, but a named fit with two or three faculty strengthens a PhD file and helps your statement. Start in September or October.
- Read recent work: pick professors whose last two or three papers you understand and could extend.
- Check the lab page: some say “not taking students this year” or ask you to apply without emailing.
- Write a short email: four or five sentences, your CV attached, with a one-line link to your thesis or project.
- Follow up once: if there is no reply after two weeks, send one polite reminder and then move on.
A sample opening, for illustration: “Dear Professor [Name], I am a final-year mechanical engineering student at [University] and I am applying to the MEAM PhD for fall 2027. Your recent paper on [topic] connects with my final-year project on [project], where I [one concrete result]. I would like to ask whether you expect to take a new student in your group next year.”
How to write the Penn Engineering personal statement
The two-page limit is tight once you answer all six of Penn’s prompts, so plan the space.
- Open with the technical problem you want to work on and how you came to it, in one short paragraph.
- Use the middle for evidence: one or two projects, what you personally did, and a result with numbers.
- Name Penn courses, labs or faculty that match your goals, and say what you would do with them.
- For a PhD, describe a specific research question you could start on.
- Give one sentence on what you would add to the Penn community, such as mentoring, a student society or industry experience.
- End with your post-degree plan: a research career, a specific industry role or a return home to a named sector.
Common mistakes international applicants make
- Converting your own grades: Penn asks for transcripts with a grading key, not a home-made 4.0 conversion. If you report a GPA, give it on your university’s scale (for example 4.52/5.00) and let the reader use the key.
- Missing the English medium proof: if you want a waiver, your transcript or an official letter must state that teaching was in English.
- Forgetting the evaluation step for non-US transcripts: Penn’s admissions page tells applicants with non-English transcripts to use a translation or evaluation service; older Penn guidance asked for a NACES course-by-course evaluation after admission. Check your offer instructions before paying for one.
- Choosing a weak academic referee: at least one letter must come from a faculty member, and a generic letter from a head of department who barely knows you is weaker than a detailed one from a supervisor.
- Assuming master’s funding: budget for the full cost and show it on your I-20 financial documents.
- Applying late in a rolling round: popular master’s programmes fill as decisions go out.
A three-year bachelor’s degree is not addressed on Penn’s engineering admission pages. If yours is three years long, email the admissions office before you apply.
Costs that PhD funding and scholarships do not cover
- Visa fee and SEVIS I-901 fee before you travel.
- Flights to Philadelphia and your first month’s rent and deposit before the first stipend arrives.
- Dependants’ health insurance, since the PhD package covers single coverage only.
- Summer costs for master’s students who do not take summer courses.
- Test fees for TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo or the GRE, and any credential evaluation.
Who should apply to Penn Engineering
Apply for a PhD if you have research experience, a clear area such as robotics, bioengineering or materials, and two or three Penn professors whose work you could join. The funding package covers tuition, fees, insurance and a stipend with a floor of $49,000.
Apply for a master’s if you can pay roughly $100,000 a year from family funds, savings, an employer or an outside scholarship, and you want a recognised Ivy League degree in a field such as robotics, data science or computer graphics. If you need a funded master’s, Penn is a poor fit; apply for the PhD instead or look at schools with assistantships for master’s students.
Penn Engineering compared with similar schools
| School | U.S. News 2026 rank | Location | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Penn Engineering | 16 (tied) | Philadelphia, PA | This page |
| Northwestern McCormick | 16 (tied) | Evanston, IL | Northwestern McCormick guide |
| Johns Hopkins Whiting | 13 | Baltimore, MD | Johns Hopkins Whiting guide |
| Columbia Engineering | 18 (tied) | New York, NY | Columbia Engineering guide |
| Maryland Clark School | 18 (tied) | College Park, MD | Maryland Clark guide |
If you are also thinking about Penn for undergraduate study, our guide to University of Pennsylvania admission requirements for international students covers the first-year process.
FAQ on Penn Engineering graduate admission
Does Penn Engineering require the GRE for international students?
No. The GRE is optional for the current cycle and leaving it out does not count against you. If you send scores, use code 2888.
What TOEFL score does Penn Engineering need?
Penn recommends TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.5 or Duolingo 135, but these are not strict cut-offs. You may get a waiver if your degree was taught in English and your transcript shows it.
Is a Penn Engineering PhD fully funded for international students?
Yes. Admitted PhD students get tuition, fees, single health and dental insurance and a stipend for the length of the programme, with a university minimum stipend of $49,000 a year from April 2026.
When is the Penn Engineering master’s deadline for fall 2027?
The regular deadline is 1 February 2027. CIS, Data Science, Robotics and MAS-CS also have an early deadline of 1 November 2026.
Sources and updates
I checked this guide on 29 October 2026 against Penn’s own pages: the SEAS graduate admissions How to Apply page for deadlines, fee, documents, GRE and English rules; the funding page for PhD packages and named scholarships; the graduate handbook list of programmes; the Materials Science master’s page; and Penn Student Registration and Financial Services pages for the 2026-27 master’s cost of attendance and PhD costs and stipend minimum. The 2027 stipend figure is from The Daily Pennsylvanian’s February 2026 report. The rank is from VnExpress International’s report of the U.S. News 2026 list, because the U.S. News page could not be opened. STEM OPT rules are the Department of Homeland Security’s. We update this page when Penn changes its dates, fees or funding.