Covenant Poly Aba Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology Cut-Off Mark 2027/2028 and Admission Requirements

The Covenant Poly Aba Electrical/Electronic Engineering cut off mark to plan with is JAMB’s polytechnic minimum of 100. See the UTME subjects, O’level rules, screening, CAPS steps and a safe target score for 2027/2028.

The Covenant Poly Aba Electrical/Electronic Engineering cut off mark you can rely on is 100 in the UTME, JAMB’s national minimum for polytechnics for 2026/2027. Covenant Polytechnic, Aba has not published its own cut-off for ND Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology in any year I could trace. On JAMB’s list the course is written “Electrical / Electronics Engineering Technology”, and it is one of two engineering programmes listed for the school.

2027/2028 update: Covenant Poly Aba cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

Covenant Polytechnic is a private polytechnic in Aba, Abia State, listed by JAMB under the short code COPOLY. It is a different school from Covenant University in Ota, Ogun State, and you should keep the two apart when you register. NBTE’s 2020 directory gives its address as P.M.B. 7065, Aba/Owerri Road, Abayi, Aba, with 2010 as the year the government approved it. One admissions blog places the main campus at Owerrinta, which sits on the same Aba/Owerri axis, but the polytechnic has not confirmed that wording in any source I reached.


Covenant Poly Aba Electrical/Electronic Engineering cut off mark at a glance

Item2026/2027 positionStatus
JAMB minimum UTME score for polytechnics100Official (JAMB 2026 policy meeting, reported 11 May 2026)
Covenant Poly cut-off for Electrical/Electronic Engineering TechnologyNot publishedNo school figure found for any year
Course name on JAMB’s listElectrical / Electronics Engineering TechnologyMyschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for COPOLY
LevelNational Diploma (ND)Entry through the UTME and CAPS
UTME subjectsUse of English, Mathematics, Physics, ChemistryJAMB polytechnic brochure base list; no COPOLY remark
Form fee, screening dateNot publishedNo official 2026/2027 notice found
JAMB deadline for 2026/2027 polytechnic admissions31 December 2026Official (JAMB, reported by NAN)

Electrical / Electronics Engineering Technology is on the Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for Covenant Polytechnic, next to Computer Engineering. I could not find an official 2026/2027 admission notice from Covenant Polytechnic, so treat the course’s current intake as unconfirmed and check with the polytechnic in Aba before you pay for any form.


Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology cut-off history at Covenant Poly Aba

SessionFigureWhat it isStatus
2026/2027100JAMB national minimum for polytechnics and monotechnicsOfficial
2025/2026100JAMB national minimum for polytechnicsOfficial (reported by Nairametrics, 8 July 2025)
Any yearNoneCovenant Poly figure for Electrical/Electronic Engineering TechnologyNever published in any source I found

JAMB held the polytechnic minimum at 100 for two sessions running, and at the 2026 meeting it said the agreed cut-off marks must be strictly followed. A private polytechnic can set its own higher mark, but Covenant Poly has not announced one. For now, 100 is the floor and no published figure sits above it.


Safe target score for Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly (my advice)

This table is my judgement as an admissions adviser. Covenant Poly has not published merit lists, applicant numbers or a ranking method, so nobody can quote you exact odds.

Your UTME scoreMy read for ND Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly
Below 100Not eligible for any ND course through JAMB this session
100 to 119Eligible; a place is possible if the course is admitting and your science credits are complete
120 to 139Good chance
140 and aboveStrong. This is where I would aim.

For the 2027 UTME I would aim for 135 or more, with credits in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and English. Electrical courses usually draw steady but not huge demand at private polytechnics. That is a general pattern, not a Covenant Poly statistic.


UTME subject combination and O’level for Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly

RequirementND Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology
UTME subjectsUse of English plus Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry (JAMB polytechnic brochure base list; no COPOLY remark)
O’levelFive credits in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, plus two from Biology or Agricultural Science, Technical Drawing, Basic Electronics or Basic Electricity, Auto Mechanics, Metal Work, Woodwork, Further Mathematics, English Language, Geography and Economics or Commerce
English LanguageOn the optional list in the base rule; several schools have remarks requiring a credit. Covenant Poly is reported to require it.
What the school is reported to askFive credits including English Language and Mathematics (o3schools, unofficial)
Sittings and awaiting resultNot stated by Covenant Poly
Direct EntryNot applicable for ND; enter through the UTME

The UTME combination is Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. A few schools have remarks on this brochure page: IMT Enugu also accepts Biology, and Federal Polytechnic Bauchi lets candidates swap Chemistry for some other subjects. Covenant Poly has no remark, so Biology does not replace Chemistry for COPOLY.

The O’level base rule treats English Language as one of the optional subjects. I would not lean on that. The only description of Covenant Poly’s own rule, from an admissions blog, says five credits including English Language and Mathematics, and almost every employer and HND programme will ask for an English credit later. Make your five credits English, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and one more from the list.

Good fifth subjects for this course are Basic Electricity, Basic Electronics, Technical Drawing and Further Mathematics, because they overlap with your first-year work.

Direct Entry and the HND route

The brochure page for this course shows a Direct Entry heading with nothing under it, and National Diplomas in Nigeria are normally entered through the UTME. Plan on sitting the UTME, since JAMB’s Direct Entry route is for degree programmes.

After the ND, the standard NBTE pattern is a year of industrial attachment and then an HND, usually with at least a Lower Credit in the ND. One admissions blog says Covenant Poly runs HND programmes and asks HND applicants for their SSCE and ND result, but the HND course list is not reliably published. Our Covenant Poly Aba HND admission requirements page covers what is known.


How Covenant Poly Aba screening works

No official 2026/2027 screening notice turned up. The only detailed description of the process is a 2026/2027 admission article on o3schools (1 November 2025), which is a blog, not the school. Here is what it says, so you know what to ask about:

  • ND and HND admission, full-time at the main campus, with part-time and online options mentioned.
  • ND applicants need five O’level credits including English Language and Mathematics.
  • An online application form on a covenant.eduecommerce.com page. I could not confirm that this page belongs to the polytechnic, so ask the school before paying through it.
  • A medical test at the school clinic after admission.
  • Documents to bring: three copies each of your O’level result, JAMB result, state or LGA of origin letter, birth certificate or age declaration and attestation letter, plus a medical result and eight passport photographs.
  • Form fee, dates and the JAMB score the school wants were not stated.

Worked example (illustrative)

Take Ifeoma, who scored 121 in English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, with credits in English, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Technical Drawing from one WAEC sitting.

  1. Eligibility: 121 minus 100 = 21. She clears JAMB’s polytechnic minimum.
  2. Against my safe target: 135 minus 121 = 14. She is in the good-chance band, a little below my target.
  3. O’level check: the three sciences, Mathematics and English are there, with Technical Drawing as the fifth, so she meets both the brochure and the reported school rule.
  4. Screening: if the school sets a test, she revises Mathematics and Physics, with attention to electricity topics.

Many polytechnics rank applicants by combining the UTME score with a screening score. Purely to show how that can work: dividing the UTME score by 8 gives a mark out of 50, and a screening score out of 50 is added. Ifeoma’s 121 gives 15.1, and 30 out of 50 at screening would give her 45.1 out of 100. Covenant Poly has not published any formula, and many private polytechnics simply admit every eligible applicant who completes the process, so read this only as a way to see how both scores could count.


How to apply for Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly, step by step

  1. Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN.
  2. Register the UTME: choose Electrical / Electronics Engineering Technology with Use of English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, and pick Covenant Polytechnic, Aba as your polytechnic choice. If you chose another school, do a JAMB change of institution before the polytechnic screens applicants.
  3. Upload your O’level to CAPS: do it at a JAMB CBT centre once your WAEC, NECO or NABTEB result is out. JAMB cannot consider you for admission without it.
  4. Get the Covenant Poly form through a confirmed channel: visit or call the admissions office, ask for the current form price, the closing date and the screening date, and keep every receipt.
  5. Attend screening: take your UTME result slip, O’level result and the documents listed above.
  6. Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, open Check Admission Status, then Access my CAPS, and accept the offer there. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains each status.
  7. Pay the acceptance fee and register: Covenant Poly has not published its acceptance or tuition fees, so get the amounts in writing from the bursary before you pay, then do the medical test and departmental registration.

Warning

Covenant Polytechnic has no confirmed official website in any source I reached, so a page or WhatsApp group that looks official may belong to an agent. JAMB says admissions outside CAPS are illegal. Every genuine offer shows on your CAPS page, and nobody can sell you a guaranteed place.


Your chances of admission into Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology

  • Applicants usually fall out over paperwork: a missing Chemistry credit, Biology registered in place of Chemistry, or an O’level result that never reached CAPS.
  • With 120 or more and the four core credits, I think your position is reasonable at a private polytechnic of this size.
  • If this course is not admitting, Computer Engineering at the same school uses the same UTME subjects, so you can switch without changing your combination.
  • JAMB’s deadline for 2026/2027 polytechnic admissions is 31 December 2026, so keep checking CAPS until then if you are in the current cycle.

Studying Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly Aba

Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology trains you to install, test and maintain electrical power systems and electronic equipment. Covenant Poly has not published its course outline, so this describes the National Diploma in general terms.

  • Core areas: electrical circuit theory, electrical machines, electronics, electrical installation, power systems and measurement.
  • Workshop and lab work: wiring practice, machine testing, electronics construction and fault finding.
  • Support courses: technical mathematics, engineering drawing, workshop technology and communication.
  • Industrial training: a SIWES placement, often with an electricity distribution company, a manufacturer or an installation firm.

Duration and accreditation

The usual NBTE pattern is two years of full-time study for the ND, with SIWES industrial training built in. Covenant Poly has not confirmed its own durations. NBTE’s directory lists Covenant Polytechnic as a private polytechnic, but the programme-level accreditation status of Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at the school is not confirmed: the programme tables were not readable in the copy I reached. This matters if you later apply for an HND elsewhere, because many polytechnics ask for an ND from an NBTE-accredited programme. Ask the school for the accreditation letter before you pay tuition.

Careers

  • Electrical installation and maintenance technician
  • Technician roles with power distribution companies, factories and telecoms firms
  • Self-employment in wiring, solar installation and equipment repair
  • Further study: HND, or a degree in Electrical/Electronic Engineering

Professional registration for engineering technologists in Nigeria goes through COREN and needs further qualifications and work experience beyond the ND.


Mistakes Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology applicants make

  • Registering Biology instead of Chemistry: the Biology option on the brochure page belongs to IMT Enugu, not COPOLY.
  • Relying on a pass in English: the school is reported to want a credit, and HND entry later will ask for it too.
  • Picking the wrong course entry: select “Electrical / Electronics Engineering Technology” under Covenant Polytechnic, Aba.
  • Confusing Covenant Polytechnic with Covenant University: they are separate schools in different states.
  • Paying an agent for a place: admission is only real when it shows on CAPS.

If you are preparing for 2027, read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and how to check your JAMB result. Chemistry is one of your three UTME science papers, so start the JAMB Chemistry syllabus for 2027 early.


Covenant Poly Aba Electrical/Electronic Engineering cut off mark: FAQs

What is the cut off mark for Electrical Engineering in Covenant Poly Aba? The figure you can rely on is JAMB’s polytechnic minimum of 100. Covenant Poly has not published a departmental cut-off, and I would aim for 135 or more.

Can I write Biology instead of Chemistry for Electrical Engineering in polytechnic? Not for Covenant Poly. The Biology option on the brochure page is a remark for IMT Enugu only, so COPOLY applicants should register Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.

Does Covenant Poly Aba accept two sittings for Electrical/Electronic Engineering? The school has not stated its sittings rule. Many polytechnics accept a maximum of two, but ask the admissions office before you rely on a combined result.

Is Electrical/Electronic Engineering at Covenant Polytechnic accredited? NBTE lists Covenant Polytechnic as a private polytechnic, but I could not confirm this programme’s accreditation status. Ask the school for its NBTE accreditation letter before paying tuition.


Sources and updates

The national minimum of 100 for 2026/2027 and the 31 December 2026 polytechnic deadline come from JAMB’s 2026 policy meeting, as reported by the News Agency of Nigeria and TheNigeriaLawyer (11 May 2026); the 2025/2026 figure is from Nairametrics (8 July 2025). The course list and the COPOLY code are from the Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for Covenant Polytechnic, Aba. The UTME subjects, O’level list and polytechnic remarks are from the JAMB polytechnic brochure entry for Electrical/Electronics Engineering Technology as reprinted by Myschool (no COPOLY or Covenant remark on the page). The address, private ownership and 2010 approval year are from NBTE’s 2020 Directory of Accredited Programmes. The application steps, documents, Owerrinta campus and eduecommerce form page are from an o3schools admission article (1 November 2025), which is unofficial. The safe target score and worked example are my advice. Checked on 29 October 2026; this page will be updated when Covenant Poly publishes a 2027/2028 notice.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like