Covenant Poly Aba Computer Engineering Technology Cut-Off Mark 2027/2028 and Admission Requirements

The Covenant Poly Aba Computer Engineering cut off mark to plan with is JAMB’s polytechnic minimum of 100. See the UTME subjects, O’level rules, screening, CAPS steps and a safe target score for 2027/2028.

The Covenant Poly Aba Computer Engineering cut off mark you can count on is 100 in the UTME, JAMB’s national minimum for polytechnics for 2026/2027. Covenant Polytechnic, Aba has never published a separate cut-off for its ND in Computer Engineering Technology that I could find. On JAMB’s course list the programme appears simply as “Computer Engineering”, and that is the name you will select during registration.

2027/2028 update: Covenant Poly Aba cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

Covenant Polytechnic is a private polytechnic in Aba, Abia State, listed by JAMB under the short code COPOLY. It is a different school from Covenant University in Ota, Ogun State, and you should keep the two apart when you register. NBTE’s 2020 directory gives its address as P.M.B. 7065, Aba/Owerri Road, Abayi, Aba, with 2010 as the year the government approved it. One admissions blog places the main campus at Owerrinta, which sits on the same Aba/Owerri axis, but the polytechnic has not confirmed that wording in any source I reached.


Covenant Poly Aba Computer Engineering Technology cut off mark at a glance

Item2026/2027 positionStatus
JAMB minimum UTME score for polytechnics100Official (JAMB 2026 policy meeting, reported 11 May 2026)
Covenant Poly cut-off for Computer Engineering TechnologyNot publishedNo school figure found for any year
Course name on JAMB’s listComputer EngineeringMyschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for COPOLY
LevelNational Diploma (ND)Entry through the UTME and CAPS
UTME subjectsUse of English, Mathematics, Physics, ChemistryJAMB polytechnic brochure base list; no COPOLY remark
Form fee, screening dateNot publishedNo official 2026/2027 notice found
JAMB deadline for 2026/2027 polytechnic admissions31 December 2026Official (JAMB, reported by NAN)

Computer Engineering is on the Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for Covenant Polytechnic, one of two engineering courses listed for the school. I could not find an official 2026/2027 admission notice from Covenant Polytechnic, so treat the course’s current intake as unconfirmed and check with the polytechnic in Aba before you pay for any form.


Computer Engineering Technology cut-off history at Covenant Poly Aba

SessionFigureWhat it isStatus
2026/2027100JAMB national minimum for polytechnics and monotechnicsOfficial
2025/2026100JAMB national minimum for polytechnicsOfficial (reported by Nairametrics, 8 July 2025)
Any yearNoneCovenant Poly figure for Computer Engineering TechnologyNever published in any source I found

JAMB held the polytechnic minimum at 100 for two sessions running, and at the 2026 meeting it said the agreed cut-off marks must be strictly followed. A private polytechnic can set its own higher mark, but Covenant Poly has not announced one. For now, 100 is the floor and no published figure sits above it.


Safe target score for Computer Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly (my advice)

This table is my judgement as an admissions adviser. Covenant Poly has not published merit lists, applicant numbers or a ranking method, so nobody can quote you exact odds.

Your UTME scoreMy read for ND Computer Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly
Below 100Not eligible for any ND course through JAMB this session
100 to 129Eligible; a place is possible if the course is admitting and your science credits are complete
130 to 149Good chance
150 and aboveStrong. This is where I would aim.

For the 2027 UTME I would aim for 140 or more, with clean credits in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and English. Computer courses tend to draw more applicants than other ND courses, so I set the target a little higher than for the management courses at the same school. That is my reading of demand, not a Covenant Poly statistic.


UTME subject combination and O’level for Computer Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly

RequirementND Computer Engineering Technology
UTME subjectsUse of English plus Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry (JAMB polytechnic brochure base list; no COPOLY remark)
O’levelFive credits in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, plus two from Biology or Agricultural Science, Technical Drawing, Basic Electronics or Basic Electricity, Auto Mechanics, Metal Work, Further Mathematics, English Language, Geography and Economics or Commerce
English LanguageThe brochure page states that a credit in English Language is required
What the school is reported to askFive credits including English Language and Mathematics (o3schools, unofficial)
Sittings and awaiting resultNot stated by Covenant Poly
Direct EntryNot applicable for ND; enter through the UTME

The combination is simple and leaves little room for error: Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry with Use of English. Only a few polytechnics have their own UTME remarks on this brochure page, and Covenant Poly is not one of them. Biology, Economics and Further Mathematics do not replace Chemistry for COPOLY.

For O’level, the three sciences and Mathematics are fixed, and the brochure page adds that a credit in English Language is required. That means your five credits should be English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, plus one from the list. Further Mathematics, Technical Drawing or Basic Electronics are the most useful fifth subjects for this course, but any listed subject counts.

JAMB lists the course as “Computer Engineering” for COPOLY, while the NBTE National Diploma is normally called Computer Engineering Technology. They are the same programme for admission purposes. Pick the COPOLY entry by name on the JAMB portal.

Direct Entry and the HND route

The brochure page for this course shows a Direct Entry heading with nothing under it, and National Diplomas in Nigeria are normally entered through the UTME. Plan on sitting the UTME, since JAMB’s Direct Entry route is for degree programmes.

After the ND, the standard NBTE pattern is a year of industrial attachment and then an HND, usually with at least a Lower Credit in the ND. One admissions blog says Covenant Poly runs HND programmes and asks HND applicants for their SSCE and ND result, but the HND course list is not reliably published. Our Covenant Poly Aba HND admission requirements page covers what is known.


How Covenant Poly Aba screening works

No official 2026/2027 screening notice turned up. The only detailed description of the process is a 2026/2027 admission article on o3schools (1 November 2025), which is a blog, not the school. Here is what it says, so you know what to ask about:

  • ND and HND admission, full-time at the main campus, with part-time and online options mentioned.
  • ND applicants need five O’level credits including English Language and Mathematics.
  • An online application form on a covenant.eduecommerce.com page. I could not confirm that this page belongs to the polytechnic, so ask the school before paying through it.
  • A medical test at the school clinic after admission.
  • Documents to bring: three copies each of your O’level result, JAMB result, state or LGA of origin letter, birth certificate or age declaration and attestation letter, plus a medical result and eight passport photographs.
  • Form fee, dates and the JAMB score the school wants were not stated.

Worked example (illustrative)

Take Emeka, who scored 138 in English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, with credits in English, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Further Mathematics across two NECO and WAEC sittings.

  1. Eligibility: 138 minus 100 = 38. He clears JAMB’s polytechnic minimum.
  2. Against my safe target: 140 minus 138 = 2. He is in the good-chance band, just short of my target.
  3. O’level check: English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry are all there, and Further Mathematics is on the list, so he meets the brochure rule. Covenant Poly has not said whether two sittings are accepted, so he should ask.
  4. Screening: if the school sets a test, he revises Mathematics and Physics at SSCE level.

Many polytechnics rank applicants by combining the UTME score with a screening score. Purely to show how that can work: dividing the UTME score by 8 gives a mark out of 50, and a screening score out of 50 is added. Emeka’s 138 gives 17.3, and 32 out of 50 at screening would give him 49.3 out of 100. Covenant Poly has not published any formula, and many private polytechnics simply admit every eligible applicant who completes the process, so read this only as a way to see how both scores could count.


How to apply for Computer Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly, step by step

  1. Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN.
  2. Register the UTME: choose Computer Engineering with Use of English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, and pick Covenant Polytechnic, Aba as your polytechnic choice. If you chose another school, do a JAMB change of institution before the polytechnic screens applicants.
  3. Upload your O’level to CAPS: do it at a JAMB CBT centre once your WAEC, NECO or NABTEB result is out. JAMB cannot consider you for admission without it.
  4. Get the Covenant Poly form through a confirmed channel: visit or call the admissions office, ask for the current form price, the closing date and the screening date, and keep every receipt.
  5. Attend screening: take your UTME result slip, O’level result and the documents listed above.
  6. Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, open Check Admission Status, then Access my CAPS, and accept the offer there. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains each status.
  7. Pay the acceptance fee and register: Covenant Poly has not published its acceptance or tuition fees, so get the amounts in writing from the bursary before you pay, then do the medical test and departmental registration.

Warning

Covenant Polytechnic has no confirmed official website in any source I reached, so a page or WhatsApp group that looks official may belong to an agent. JAMB says admissions outside CAPS are illegal. Every genuine offer shows on your CAPS page, and nobody can sell you a guaranteed place.


Your chances of admission into Computer Engineering Technology

  • Most failed applications here come from paperwork, not scores: a missing Chemistry credit, a wrong fourth UTME subject or an O’level result never uploaded to CAPS.
  • With 130 or more and the four core credits, I think you stand a good chance, since the competition at a private polytechnic is usually lighter than at the big state and federal ones.
  • If Computer Engineering is not admitting, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology at the same school uses the same UTME subjects, and Computer Science needs a slightly different combination.
  • JAMB’s deadline for 2026/2027 polytechnic admissions is 31 December 2026, so keep checking CAPS until then if you are in the current cycle.

Studying Computer Engineering Technology at Covenant Poly Aba

Computer Engineering Technology sits between electronics and computing. You learn how computer hardware is built, tested and repaired, and how it talks to software. Covenant Poly has not published its course outline, so this describes the National Diploma in general terms.

  • Core areas: electrical and electronic principles, digital electronics, computer hardware and maintenance, microprocessors, programming and computer networks.
  • Workshop and lab work: soldering, circuit building, fault finding and the use of test instruments.
  • Support courses: technical mathematics, physics for engineers, technical drawing and communication.
  • Industrial training: a SIWES placement, often with a computer service firm, a telecoms company or an IT department.

Duration and accreditation

The usual NBTE pattern is two years of full-time study for the ND, with SIWES industrial training built in. Covenant Poly has not confirmed its own durations. NBTE’s directory lists Covenant Polytechnic as a private polytechnic, but the programme-level accreditation status of Computer Engineering Technology at the school is not confirmed: the programme tables were not readable in the copy I reached. This matters if you later apply for an HND elsewhere, because many polytechnics ask for an ND from an NBTE-accredited programme. Ask the school for the accreditation letter before you pay tuition.

Careers

  • Computer hardware and network technician roles
  • Field support work for banks, telecoms firms and IT vendors
  • Running a computer repair or installation business, which is common in a commercial city like Aba
  • Further study: HND, or a degree in Computer Engineering or a related course

Professional registration for engineering technologists in Nigeria goes through COREN and needs further qualifications and work experience beyond the ND.


Mistakes Computer Engineering Technology applicants make

  • Registering Biology instead of Chemistry: the base list is Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, and COPOLY has no remark allowing Biology.
  • Missing an English credit: the brochure page asks for one, even though English is also on the optional list.
  • Looking for “Computer Engineering Technology” on the JAMB portal: the COPOLY entry is named “Computer Engineering”.
  • Confusing Covenant Polytechnic with Covenant University: they are separate schools in different states.
  • Paying an agent for a place: admission is only real when it shows on CAPS.

If you are preparing for 2027, read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and how to check your JAMB result. Physics and Chemistry carry much of your UTME score here, so work through the JAMB Chemistry syllabus for 2027 early.


Covenant Poly Aba Computer Engineering Technology cut off mark: FAQs

What is the cut off mark for Computer Engineering in Covenant Poly Aba? The figure you can rely on is JAMB’s polytechnic minimum of 100. Covenant Poly has not published a departmental cut-off, and I would aim for 140 to be safe.

What subjects do I need for Computer Engineering in polytechnic JAMB? Use of English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. Covenant Poly has no special remark on the brochure page, so Biology or Economics will not replace Chemistry.

Can I use a pass in English for Computer Engineering at Covenant Poly? The brochure page says a credit in English Language is required, and the school is also reported to ask for English and Mathematics among five credits. Plan on a credit.

How many years is Computer Engineering Technology in Covenant Polytechnic? The ND normally runs for two years under the NBTE pattern, followed by a year of industrial attachment before the HND. Covenant Poly has not confirmed its own duration.


Sources and updates

The national minimum of 100 for 2026/2027 and the 31 December 2026 polytechnic deadline come from JAMB’s 2026 policy meeting, as reported by the News Agency of Nigeria and TheNigeriaLawyer (11 May 2026); the 2025/2026 figure is from Nairametrics (8 July 2025). The course list and the COPOLY code are from the Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for Covenant Polytechnic, Aba. The UTME subjects, O’level list and polytechnic remarks are from the JAMB polytechnic brochure entry for Computer Engineering as reprinted by Myschool (no COPOLY or Covenant remark on the page). The address, private ownership and 2010 approval year are from NBTE’s 2020 Directory of Accredited Programmes. The application steps, documents, Owerrinta campus and eduecommerce form page are from an o3schools admission article (1 November 2025), which is unofficial. The safe target score and worked example are my advice. Checked on 29 October 2026; this page will be updated when Covenant Poly publishes a 2027/2028 notice.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like