The Covenant Poly Aba cut off mark for Computer Science that you can rely on is 100 in the UTME, JAMB’s national minimum for polytechnics for 2026/2027. Covenant Polytechnic, Aba has not published a departmental cut-off for ND Computer Science in any year I could trace. The course is on JAMB’s list for the school, and it is the programme I would expect to draw the most applicants there.
2027/2028 update: Covenant Poly Aba cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.
Covenant Polytechnic is a private polytechnic in Aba, Abia State, listed by JAMB under the short code COPOLY. It is a different school from Covenant University in Ota, Ogun State, and you should keep the two apart when you register. NBTE’s 2020 directory gives its address as P.M.B. 7065, Aba/Owerri Road, Abayi, Aba, with 2010 as the year the government approved it. One admissions blog places the main campus at Owerrinta, which sits on the same Aba/Owerri axis, but the polytechnic has not confirmed that wording in any source I reached.
Covenant Poly Aba cut off mark for Computer Science at a glance
| Item | 2026/2027 position | Status |
|---|---|---|
| JAMB minimum UTME score for polytechnics | 100 | Official (JAMB 2026 policy meeting, reported 11 May 2026) |
| Covenant Poly cut-off for Computer Science | Not published | No school figure found for any year |
| Course name on JAMB’s list | Computer Science | Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for COPOLY |
| Level | National Diploma (ND) | Entry through the UTME and CAPS |
| UTME subjects | Use of English, Mathematics and two of Geography, Physics, Economics, Chemistry | JAMB polytechnic brochure base list; no COPOLY remark |
| Form fee, screening date | Not published | No official 2026/2027 notice found |
| JAMB deadline for 2026/2027 polytechnic admissions | 31 December 2026 | Official (JAMB, reported by NAN) |
Computer Science is on the Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for Covenant Polytechnic, with Science Laboratory Technology and Statistics on the science side. I could not find an official 2026/2027 admission notice from Covenant Polytechnic, so treat the course’s current intake as unconfirmed and check with the polytechnic in Aba before you pay for any form.
Computer Science cut-off history at Covenant Poly Aba
| Session | Figure | What it is | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026/2027 | 100 | JAMB national minimum for polytechnics and monotechnics | Official |
| 2025/2026 | 100 | JAMB national minimum for polytechnics | Official (reported by Nairametrics, 8 July 2025) |
| Any year | None | Covenant Poly figure for Computer Science | Never published in any source I found |
JAMB held the polytechnic minimum at 100 for two sessions running, and at the 2026 meeting it said the agreed cut-off marks must be strictly followed. A private polytechnic can set its own higher mark, but Covenant Poly has not announced one. For now, 100 is the floor and no published figure sits above it.
Safe target score for Computer Science at Covenant Poly (my advice)
This table is my judgement as an admissions adviser. Covenant Poly has not published merit lists, applicant numbers or a ranking method, so nobody can quote you exact odds.
| Your UTME score | My read for ND Computer Science at Covenant Poly |
|---|---|
| Below 100 | Not eligible for any ND course through JAMB this session |
| 100 to 129 | Eligible; a place is possible if the course is admitting and your O’level is complete |
| 130 to 149 | Good chance |
| 150 and above | Strong. This is where I would aim. |
For the 2027 UTME I would aim for 150, or at least 140, with credits in English, Mathematics and Physics. Computer Science is popular at every polytechnic, so I set the target higher than for other courses at the school. That is my reading of demand, not a Covenant Poly statistic.
UTME subject combination and O’level for Computer Science at Covenant Poly
| Requirement | ND Computer Science |
|---|---|
| UTME subjects | Use of English plus Mathematics and any two of Geography, Physics, Economics or Chemistry (JAMB polytechnic brochure base list; no COPOLY remark) |
| O’level | Five credits in Mathematics, a basic science and three other subjects from a list that includes Economics, Geography, Government or History, Further Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science and Typewriting |
| Compulsory credits | English Language and Physics, as the brochure page states |
| What the school is reported to ask | Five credits including English Language and Mathematics (o3schools, unofficial) |
| Sittings and awaiting result | Not stated by Covenant Poly |
| Direct Entry | Not applicable for ND; enter through the UTME |
Two details on the brochure page catch applicants out. First, Physics is not compulsory in the UTME for the base list: Mathematics plus any two of Geography, Physics, Economics or Chemistry is accepted, and Biology is not on that list. Second, Physics is compulsory at O’level, at credit level, together with English Language.
Some schools have softer O’level rules. The page carries a remark that Adamawa Poly, IMT Enugu and Abia State Polytechnic accept a pass in Physics. Covenant Poly is not named in that remark, so for COPOLY you need a credit in Physics.
My advice is to register Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry for the UTME. It fits the base list, it matches the O’level Physics credit you need anyway, and it keeps the door open if you later switch to Computer Engineering at the same school, which requires exactly those three. A combination with Economics or Geography is valid for COPOLY Computer Science, but it would not carry over to the engineering courses.
Direct Entry and the HND route
The brochure page for this course shows a Direct Entry heading with nothing under it, and National Diplomas in Nigeria are normally entered through the UTME. Plan on sitting the UTME, since JAMB’s Direct Entry route is for degree programmes.
After the ND, the standard NBTE pattern is a year of industrial attachment and then an HND, usually with at least a Lower Credit in the ND. One admissions blog says Covenant Poly runs HND programmes and asks HND applicants for their SSCE and ND result, but the HND course list is not reliably published. Our Covenant Poly Aba HND admission requirements page covers what is known.
How Covenant Poly Aba screening works
No official 2026/2027 screening notice turned up. The only detailed description of the process is a 2026/2027 admission article on o3schools (1 November 2025), which is a blog, not the school. Here is what it says, so you know what to ask about:
- ND and HND admission, full-time at the main campus, with part-time and online options mentioned.
- ND applicants need five O’level credits including English Language and Mathematics.
- An online application form on a covenant.eduecommerce.com page. I could not confirm that this page belongs to the polytechnic, so ask the school before paying through it.
- A medical test at the school clinic after admission.
- Documents to bring: three copies each of your O’level result, JAMB result, state or LGA of origin letter, birth certificate or age declaration and attestation letter, plus a medical result and eight passport photographs.
- Form fee, dates and the JAMB score the school wants were not stated.
Worked example (illustrative)
Take Tobenna, who scored 144 in English, Mathematics, Physics and Economics, with credits in English, Mathematics, Physics, Economics and Biology from one NECO sitting.
- Eligibility: 144 minus 100 = 44. He clears JAMB’s polytechnic minimum.
- Against my safe target: 150 minus 144 = 6. He is in the good-chance band.
- UTME combination: Mathematics with Physics and Economics fits the base list.
- O’level check: English and Physics credits are there, Mathematics is there, Biology counts as the basic science, and Economics is on the list, so he meets the brochure rule.
- Screening: if the school sets a test, he revises Mathematics and English, and basic computer knowledge if the school says it will test it.
Many polytechnics rank applicants by combining the UTME score with a screening score. Purely to show how that can work: dividing the UTME score by 8 gives a mark out of 50, and a screening score out of 50 is added. Tobenna’s 144 gives 18.0, and 31 out of 50 at screening would give him 49.0 out of 100. Covenant Poly has not published any formula, and many private polytechnics simply admit every eligible applicant who completes the process, so read this only as a way to see how both scores could count.
How to apply for Computer Science at Covenant Poly, step by step
- Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN.
- Register the UTME: choose Computer Science with Use of English, Mathematics and two of Physics, Chemistry, Economics or Geography (Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry is the safest set), and pick Covenant Polytechnic, Aba as your polytechnic choice. If you chose another school, do a JAMB change of institution before the polytechnic screens applicants.
- Upload your O’level to CAPS: do it at a JAMB CBT centre once your WAEC, NECO or NABTEB result is out. JAMB cannot consider you for admission without it.
- Get the Covenant Poly form through a confirmed channel: visit or call the admissions office, ask for the current form price, the closing date and the screening date, and keep every receipt.
- Attend screening: take your UTME result slip, O’level result and the documents listed above.
- Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, open Check Admission Status, then Access my CAPS, and accept the offer there. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains each status.
- Pay the acceptance fee and register: Covenant Poly has not published its acceptance or tuition fees, so get the amounts in writing from the bursary before you pay, then do the medical test and departmental registration.
Warning
Covenant Polytechnic has no confirmed official website in any source I reached, so a page or WhatsApp group that looks official may belong to an agent. JAMB says admissions outside CAPS are illegal. Every genuine offer shows on your CAPS page, and nobody can sell you a guaranteed place.
Your chances of admission into Computer Science
- The O’level Physics credit is where many Computer Science applicants fall short. Check it before you pay for anything.
- With 140 or more and a clean O’level, I think you are well placed, because private polytechnics rarely turn away eligible Computer Science applicants for lack of space.
- If Computer Science is full or not admitting, Statistics at the same school is another science option (check its UTME subjects first), and Computer Engineering suits you if you registered Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.
- JAMB’s deadline for 2026/2027 polytechnic admissions is 31 December 2026, so keep checking CAPS until then if you are in the current cycle.
Studying Computer Science at Covenant Poly Aba
ND Computer Science focuses on programming, data and the software side of computing. Covenant Poly has not published its course outline, so this describes the National Diploma in general terms.
- Core areas: introduction to computing, programming languages, data structures, database design, web development, systems analysis and computer networks.
- Practical work: regular programming labs and small software projects.
- Support courses: mathematics for computing, statistics, digital logic and communication.
- Industrial training: a SIWES placement, often in an IT department, a software firm or a business centre.
Duration and accreditation
The usual NBTE pattern is two years of full-time study for the ND, with SIWES industrial training built in. Covenant Poly has not confirmed its own durations. NBTE’s directory lists Covenant Polytechnic as a private polytechnic, but the programme-level accreditation status of Computer Science at the school is not confirmed: the programme tables were not readable in the copy I reached. This matters if you later apply for an HND elsewhere, because many polytechnics ask for an ND from an NBTE-accredited programme. Ask the school for the accreditation letter before you pay tuition.
Careers
- Junior programmer or web developer
- IT support and systems administration roles
- Data entry and database work in banks, schools and hospitals
- Further study: HND, or a degree in Computer Science or Information Technology
In computing, a portfolio of projects counts for a lot. Build small apps or websites during the ND and keep them on GitHub.
Related Covenant Poly courses and alternatives
- Covenant Poly Aba Computer Engineering Technology cut-off mark
- Covenant Poly Aba Statistics cut-off mark
- Covenant Poly Aba Science Laboratory Technology cut-off mark
- Abia Poly cut-off mark for Computer Science, the same course at the state polytechnic in Aba
Mistakes Computer Science applicants make
- Having only a pass in Physics: the softer rule on the brochure page names other schools, not COPOLY.
- Registering Biology in the UTME: Biology is not on the base list for this course.
- Leaving out Mathematics: it is the one fixed UTME subject besides English.
- Confusing Covenant Polytechnic with Covenant University: they are separate schools in different states.
- Paying an agent for a place: admission is only real when it shows on CAPS.
If you are preparing for 2027, read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and how to check your JAMB result.
Covenant Poly Aba cut off mark for Computer Science: FAQs
What is the cut off mark for Computer Science in Covenant Poly Aba? The figure you can rely on is JAMB’s polytechnic minimum of 100. Covenant Poly has not published a departmental cut-off; I would aim for 140 to 150.
Is Physics compulsory for Computer Science in polytechnic JAMB? Not in the UTME base list, which is Mathematics plus two of Geography, Physics, Economics or Chemistry. Physics is compulsory at O’level, as a credit, together with English.
Can I study Computer Science at Covenant Poly with a pass in Physics? The brochure allows a Physics pass only for Adamawa Poly, IMT Enugu and Abia State Polytechnic. Covenant Poly is not named, so plan on a credit.
Can I use awaiting result for Covenant Poly Computer Science? Covenant Poly has not published an awaiting-result rule. JAMB will not process your admission until your O’level is uploaded to CAPS, so the result must be out before the offer.
Sources and updates
The national minimum of 100 for 2026/2027 and the 31 December 2026 polytechnic deadline come from JAMB’s 2026 policy meeting, as reported by the News Agency of Nigeria and TheNigeriaLawyer (11 May 2026); the 2025/2026 figure is from Nairametrics (8 July 2025). The course list and the COPOLY code are from the Myschool reprint of JAMB’s course list for Covenant Polytechnic, Aba. The UTME subjects, O’level list and polytechnic remarks are from the JAMB polytechnic brochure entry for Computer Science as reprinted by Myschool (no COPOLY or Covenant remark on the page). The address, private ownership and 2010 approval year are from NBTE’s 2020 Directory of Accredited Programmes. The application steps, documents, Owerrinta campus and eduecommerce form page are from an o3schools admission article (1 November 2025), which is unofficial. The safe target score and worked example are my advice. Checked on 29 October 2026; this page will be updated when Covenant Poly publishes a 2027/2028 notice.