The FUAHSE Prosthetics and Orthotics cut off mark is 200 in the UTME. The Federal University of Allied Health Sciences, Enugu (FUAHSE) listed Prosthetics and Orthotics at 200 on its official 2026/2027 UTME admission cut-off list. Few Nigerian universities offer this degree; JAMB’s brochure entry names only FUTO in its remarks.
2027/2028 update: FUAHSE cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.
Prosthetists and orthotists design and fit artificial limbs and the braces, splints and special footwear that support weak or injured parts of the body. FUAHSE awards the degree as the B.PO and runs it in its Faculty of Rehabilitative Health with Physiotherapy and Speech Therapy. Below: the official figures, the score I would aim for, subjects and O’level, Direct Entry for orthopaedic technology diploma holders, screening, CAPS, and the Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board question.
FUAHSE Prosthetics and Orthotics cut off mark at a glance
| Item | Position | Status |
|---|---|---|
| FUAHSE cut-off for Prosthetics and Orthotics | 200 | Official (FUAHSE e-portal, 2026/2027 list) |
| JAMB national minimum for universities | 150 | Official (JAMB policy meeting, 11 May 2026) |
| Faculty | Faculty of Rehabilitative Health | FUAHSE website |
| Degree | B.PO (Bachelor of Prosthetics and Orthotics) | 2025/2026 admission reprint |
| UTME subjects | Use of English, Physics, Chemistry, Biology | JAMB brochure (Myschool reprint) |
| Screening window 2026/2027 | 8 June to 19 August 2026 | Closed |
| NUC programme approval | Yes, among the first 16 (December 2024) | News reports of FUAHSE’s announcement |
| MRTB accreditation | No public record found | Checked 30 October 2026 |
FUAHSE Prosthetics and Orthotics cut-off history
| Session | Figure | What it is | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026/2027 | 200 | Prosthetics and Orthotics admission cut-off | Official FUAHSE e-portal |
| 2026/2027 | 150 | Minimum UTME score to fill the screening form | Myschool report of the 2026/2027 exercise |
| 2025/2026 | 150 | Minimum UTME score to apply (no per-course figure found) | Studentship reprint, 18 July 2025 |
Prosthetics and Orthotics was in the 2025/2026 intake, when FUAHSE only stated the 150 minimum. The 200 on the 2026/2027 list is the first course figure. With so few universities offering the degree, there is no wider history to compare it with either.
All FUAHSE cut-off marks for 2026/2027
| 2026/2027 cut-off | FUAHSE courses (names as on the e-portal) |
|---|---|
| 260 | Nursing Science |
| 240 | Radiography |
| 230 | Medical Laboratory Science, Physiotherapy |
| 200 | Public Health, Dental Technology, Dental Therapy, Prosthetics and Orthotics, Software Engineering, Mechatronics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, Electrical and Electronics, Biomedical Engineering, Social Work, Biotechnology, Alternative and Complementary Medicine |
| 180 | Health Care Management, Occupational Therapy, Parasitology and Entomology, Water Hygiene and Sanitation |
| 170 | Speech Therapy, Community Health, Health Information |
| 150 | Human Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Microbiology |
Physiotherapy, the other big rehabilitation course, is 30 marks higher at 230. Occupational Therapy (180) and Speech Therapy (170) are below. If you want rehabilitation work and fall short of 200, those two are your nearest FUAHSE options. Biomedical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, both at 200, are the closest on the engineering side.
Safe target score for Prosthetics and Orthotics at FUAHSE (my advice)
This is my reading of the cut-off; FUAHSE does not publish admitted scores.
| Your UTME score | My read for FUAHSE Prosthetics and Orthotics |
|---|---|
| Below 200 | Not eligible; Occupational Therapy (180) and Speech Therapy (170) remain open |
| 200 to 209 | Eligible, near the line |
| 210 to 219 | Competitive with good science grades |
| 220 and above | Strong |
I would aim for at least 210, ideally 220. Fewer candidates know about this course than about Physiotherapy, which helps you. The risk is that FUAHSE fills places from the whole 200 band, and candidates who miss Physiotherapy’s 230 often land here.
Catchment and quota
FUAHSE has not published a catchment list or a quota. Plan on merit.
Prosthetics and Orthotics subject combination and O’level at FUAHSE
| Requirement | Prosthetics and Orthotics |
|---|---|
| UTME subjects | Use of English, Chemistry, Biology, Physics |
| O’level | Five credits: English Language, Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology |
| Exams accepted | WAEC, NECO or NABTEB (FUAHSE has not published a different list) |
| Sittings | Not stated by FUAHSE; one sitting is safer |
| Direct Entry (JAMB general) | A’level passes in any two of Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics, or ND Upper Credit in Prosthesis and Orthopaedic Technology |
| Direct Entry (FUAHSE 2026/2027 notice) | ND, HND or first degree plus relevant O’level credits |
These are from JAMB’s brochure entry for Prosthetics and Orthotics (Myschool reprint, checked 30 October 2026). The only university remark in it is FUTO’s, which keeps the same three sciences and adds a two-sitting limit. There is no FUAHSE remark. Mathematics can’t stand in for Physics here: the course is built on biomechanics and materials, and JAMB lists Physics.
Course name to pick on JAMB: JAMB’s brochure lists this course as Prosthetics and Orthotics, and FUAHSE’s cut-off page calls it Prosthetics and Orthotics. I could not open JAMB’s own list of FUAHSE courses (the Myschool reprint would not load for me), so I can’t confirm exactly how the course appears under FUAHSE. FUAHSE’s 2026/2027 Post-UTME form took JAMB registration numbers and the course is on its official cut-off list, which tells you admission runs through JAMB. At registration, ask the centre to show FUAHSE’s course options on screen and pick the matching one. Don’t settle for a similar-looking course at another school.
JAMB also has separate brochure entries called Prosthesis and Orthopaedic Technology and Prosthetics and Orthotics Technology, used by other institutions. Pick the plain Prosthetics and Orthotics entry under FUAHSE.
Direct Entry suits people who already hold an ND in Prosthesis and Orthopaedic Technology, for example from the Federal College of Orthopaedic Technology, Igbobi. JAMB’s general rule wants Upper Credit. FUAHSE’s notice accepted ND and HND holders but didn’t set a grade or entry level, so ask first.
How FUAHSE screening works for Prosthetics and Orthotics
| Detail | FUAHSE 2026/2027 position | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum UTME score to apply | 150 (the JAMB national minimum for universities) | Myschool, 4 June 2026 |
| Course cut-off | Set per course on the e-portal (see the table above) | FUAHSE e-portal |
| Application window | 8 June to 19 August 2026 (closed) | Myschool, 4 June 2026; AbsTechConnect blog |
| Fee | ₦2,000 reported | AbsTechConnect blog (June 2026); not on an official page I reached |
| How to apply | Online at eportal.fuahse.edu.ng; UTME by JAMB number, Direct Entry by phone number | FUAHSE e-portal |
| Direct Entry | ND, HND or a first degree, plus O’level credits in relevant subjects | Myschool, 4 June 2026 |
| Test or interview | Not published | No official notice found |
| Aggregate formula | Not published | No official notice found |
| O’level on CAPS | Required | Blog reprints; standard JAMB rule |
| Admission status | FUAHSE status page and JAMB CAPS | FUAHSE admissions page |
Worked example for a Prosthetics and Orthotics candidate
FUAHSE has no published aggregate formula, so compare your UTME score with the cut-off and my target instead.
Tobenna scored 221 with B2 in English, B3 in Mathematics, B3 in Physics, C4 in Chemistry and B3 in Biology from one sitting.
- Eligibility: 221 minus 200 = 21 above the cut-off.
- Against my safe target: 221 is in my strong band.
- O’level check: all five credits in one sitting, uploaded to CAPS.
- My advice: he is well placed. His B3 in Physics also matters for the course itself.
Chidinma scored 185. She is 15 short of 200, but 185 clears Occupational Therapy at 180, which is also a rehabilitation degree in the same faculty.
How to apply for Prosthetics and Orthotics at FUAHSE, step by step
- Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN.
- Register for the UTME: choose FUAHSE and Prosthetics and Orthotics, with Use of English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology. If FUAHSE was not your choice, do a JAMB change of institution before its screening form opens.
- Upload your O’level on CAPS: do it at a JAMB-accredited centre, early. Universities read your grades from CAPS.
- Fill the FUAHSE screening form: go to eportal.fuahse.edu.ng and open the Post-UTME application form for the session. UTME candidates enter their JAMB registration number; Direct Entry candidates start with a phone number. Blogs reported a fee of ₦2,000 for 2026/2027; the portal invoice is what counts.
- Print your slip and watch for updates: FUAHSE has not published whether it holds a test, so keep checking the portal and the official admissions page after you submit.
- Check your status: use FUAHSE’s admission status page and JAMB CAPS. An offer is only real once it appears on CAPS.
- Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, open Check Admission Status, then Access my CAPS, and accept. JAMB gives candidates four weeks to accept or reject an offer.
- Pay acceptance and clear: FUAHSE has not published its acceptance fee in any source I reached. Pay only through an invoice generated on the FUAHSE e-portal, and keep every receipt for clearance.
Warning
FUAHSE’s admissions page warns that fake admission information about the university is circulating on Facebook. Its official channels are fuahse.edu.ng/admissions and the e-portal at eportal.fuahse.edu.ng, and every genuine offer also shows on JAMB CAPS. Nobody can sell you a place, so don’t pay anyone who promises one.
FUAHSE is a federal university, so its 2026/2027 admissions fall under the window JAMB set for public universities, which ended on 31 October 2026 (News Agency of Nigeria, 11 May 2026). That date has now passed. I found no report of when FUAHSE uploaded its 2026/2027 list. If you applied this year, check CAPS and FUAHSE’s status page, and read our JAMB CAPS guide to understand each status.
Studying Prosthetics and Orthotics at FUAHSE
Prosthetics and Orthotics is in the Faculty of Rehabilitative Health with Physiotherapy and Speech Therapy. FUAHSE has not published the length of the B.PO, so confirm it with the department.
Is FUAHSE Prosthetics and Orthotics accredited?
- March 2024: the Federal Government approved the upgrade of the Federal College of Dental Technology and Therapy, Trans-Ekulu, into FUAHSE.
- October 2024: an NUC team began checking 18 of the 22 programmes FUAHSE’s Senate had approved for take-off in 2024/2025, using NUC’s Core Curriculum Minimum Academic Standards as the yardstick (The Sun, 31 October 2024).
- December 2024: FUAHSE announced NUC approval for its first 16 degree programmes, and Prosthetics and Orthotics was on that list (Journalist101 and Vanguard, 19 December 2024).
- May 2026: the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. John Emaimo, said NUC approval now covered 27 programmes: the original 16 plus 11 newer ones, naming Biotechnology, Artificial Intelligence and Software Engineering among them. He spoke ahead of the university’s second matriculation (The Sun, 9 May 2026).
The Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board (MRTB) lists Prosthetics and Orthotics among the seven professions it regulates, along with Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy and Speech Therapy. I found no public MRTB record for FUAHSE’s B.PO and no NUC accreditation report, which is expected while the first students are in the early years. MRTB registration is what lets you practise after graduation, so ask the department about MRTB approval and student indexing before you accept.
What you study
- Foundation years: basic sciences, anatomy, physiology and pathology, with extra weight on the musculoskeletal and nervous systems.
- Biomechanics: how forces act on joints and limbs during standing and walking, and how a device changes them.
- Materials and workshop practice: plaster casting, thermoplastics, laminated resins, metals and carbon fibre, and the tools used to shape them.
- Prosthetics: designing and fitting artificial limbs for people with amputations, from the socket to the foot.
- Orthotics: braces, splints, spinal supports and corrective footwear for conditions such as cerebral palsy, polio, clubfoot and stroke.
- Clinical placements: supervised work with patients, usually alongside physiotherapists and orthopaedic surgeons.
Careers
Graduates work in orthopaedic hospitals, rehabilitation centres, teaching hospitals, military medical services and private orthopaedic workshops. Nigeria has far more people who need limbs and braces than trained professionals to make them, so the field has room for people willing to set up practice, especially outside Lagos and Abuja.
Related FUAHSE courses
- FUAHSE cut-off mark for Physiotherapy (230)
- FUAHSE Occupational Therapy cut-off mark (180)
- FUAHSE Speech Therapy cut-off mark (170)
- FUAHSE Biomedical Engineering cut-off mark (200)
Elsewhere, FUTO has a remark in JAMB’s Prosthetics and Orthotics entry, and the University of Medical Sciences, Ondo has a Department of Prosthetics and Orthotics. The Federal College of Orthopaedic Technology, Igbobi in Lagos trains at diploma level.
For UTME revision, start with our JAMB Biology syllabus and JAMB Chemistry syllabus, then read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and what to do with your JAMB score if you are planning a fresh attempt in 2027.
Mistakes that cost Prosthetics and Orthotics applicants a FUAHSE place
- Planning with 150: the course needs 200.
- Picking the wrong JAMB entry: choose Prosthetics and Orthotics, not the technology entries used by colleges.
- Dropping Physics: JAMB lists Physics, Chemistry and Biology.
- O’level not on CAPS: upload it before screening.
- Accepting without asking about MRTB: the board’s approval is what gets you registered later.
If FUAHSE wasn’t your institution at registration, read how to change institution on JAMB.
FUAHSE Prosthetics and Orthotics cut off mark: frequently asked questions
Is 195 enough for Prosthetics and Orthotics at FUAHSE? No. The 2026/2027 cut-off is 200. A score of 195 clears Occupational Therapy at 180, which is in the same faculty.
What subjects do I need for Prosthetics and Orthotics in JAMB? Use of English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology, with five O’level credits in English, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology.
Can an ND holder in orthopaedic technology get Direct Entry at FUAHSE? JAMB’s general entry accepts an ND at Upper Credit in Prosthesis and Orthopaedic Technology, and FUAHSE’s notice accepted ND holders. FUAHSE did not state a grade, so confirm first.
Which body registers prosthetists and orthotists in Nigeria? The Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board (MRTB). I found no public MRTB record for FUAHSE’s degree yet, so ask the department.
Sources and updates
The 2026/2027 course cut-offs come from FUAHSE’s e-portal page 2026-2027 UTME Admission Cutoff Mark, read on 30 October 2026. The 150 minimum, the 8 June to 19 August 2026 window and the Direct Entry entry routes come from Myschool (4 June 2026); the ₦2,000 fee is from AbsTechConnect (June 2026) and is unofficial. FUAHSE’s official channels and the Facebook warning are on its admissions page; its July 2025 warning against admission racketeering was reported by Myschool. The national minimum of 150, the 31 October 2026 deadline for public universities and the four-week CAPS acceptance window come from the News Agency of Nigeria (11 May 2026). The programme approval history comes from The Sun (31 October 2024), Journalist101 (19 December 2024) and The Sun (9 May 2026). UTME, O’level and Direct Entry rules are from JAMB’s brochure entry for Prosthetics and Orthotics as reprinted by Myschool, which has a FUTO remark and no FUAHSE remark. The list of professions the MRTB regulates is from its mandate page. The B.PO award and the 2025/2026 minimum are from a Studentship reprint of FUAHSE’s 2025/2026 notice (18 July 2025). Course content and careers describe prosthetics and orthotics training in general, and the target scores are my advice. FUAHSE has not published a test, an aggregate formula, a quota, a duration or an acceptance fee in any source I reached. Checked on 30 October 2026; this page will be updated when FUAHSE publishes its 2027/2028 figures.