The University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus online MSN (CU calls its master’s an MS in nursing) is ranked No. 12 in the U.S. News 2026 Best Online Master’s in Nursing Programs. It is also one of the few top-ranked programmes that says plainly what international nurses can do. CU’s international page states that its fully online graduate options are open to people living outside the United States, though they do not qualify for an F-1 student visa.
There is a catch for the 2027 intake. Of CU’s three fully online master’s specialties, two (Health Care Informatics and Veteran and Military Health Care) have admissions paused, which leaves the i-LEAD nursing leadership MS as the open online route. The nurse practitioner tracks are hybrid and include time on campus in Aurora, Colorado. Tuition for 2026-27 is $820 per credit for residents and $1,330 for non-residents, and the CU Anschutz online MSN deadline for fall 2027 is 15 January 2027. I checked these details on CU’s pages on 29 October 2026.
CU Anschutz online MSN ranking
CU Anschutz News announced that the College of Nursing rose to No. 12 in the U.S. News 2026 Best Online Master’s in Nursing Programs, released on 27 January 2026. CU’s release headline says the College “soars to 12”. It does not say whether the place is shared.
CU Anschutz online MSN specialties
The College lists 13 MS specialties and sorts them into two formats, “100% online” and “hybrid online”. Its international page names the fully online ones: Health Care Informatics, Nursing Leadership (i-LEAD) and Veteran and Military Health Care. The rest, which include the nurse practitioner and midwifery tracks, are hybrid with required on-campus courses.
| MS specialty | Format | Fall 2027 admission status |
|---|---|---|
| i-LEAD Nursing Leadership and Health Care Systems | 100% online | Open |
| Health Care Informatics | 100% online | Paused |
| Veteran and Military Health Care | 100% online | Paused |
| Family Nurse Practitioner | Hybrid | Open |
| Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner | Hybrid | Open |
| Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP | Hybrid | Open |
| Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP | Hybrid | Open |
| Acute Care Pediatric NP | Hybrid | Open |
| Primary Care Pediatric NP | Hybrid | Open |
| Women’s Health NP | Hybrid | Open |
| Midwifery | Hybrid | Open |
| Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist | Hybrid | Paused |
The status column comes from CU’s graduate application deadlines page. The specialty list also shows a separate “MS Nurse-Midwifery” entry next to “MS Midwifery” without explaining the difference, so ask admissions which one you would join. Most specialties are also offered as a BS to DNP.
i-LEAD in detail
- Format: 100% online, with virtual meetings and discussion boards.
- Credits: the programme page says 27 credit hours of online classes, while CU’s tuition estimate uses 30 credits. Confirm the figure for your plan of study.
- Length: 2 to 2.5 years, or six semesters.
- Practicum: an internship focused on improving systems and processes, “often where you work”. CU does not give an hour total.
- Licensure note: for online students outside Colorado, CU points to its nursing certification disclaimer and its SARA state authorisation information. It does not list excluded states on the programme page.
The nurse practitioner tracks
CU publishes credit estimates of 56 for the FNP and 52 for the PMHNP. These hybrid tracks require some courses in person, and CU’s admissions team tells each student which courses those are. I could not open the FNP programme page itself, so I have not stated clinical hours or the number of campus visits.
Can international nurses apply to the CU Anschutz online MSN?
This is the clearest answer among the schools I have covered: conditionally yes, for a fully online specialty.
| Your situation | Can you enrol? | What CU says |
|---|---|---|
| Living outside the U.S., applying to i-LEAD (fully online) | Possibly | CU says its 100% online graduate options are available to people living outside the U.S.; they do not support an F-1 visa |
| Living outside the U.S., applying to an NP or midwifery track | Not without relocating | Most programmes need some on-campus time, so studying entirely from abroad is generally not possible |
| Wanting an F-1 visa | Only for hybrid or on-campus programmes | The F-1 covers the on-campus portion; online-only programmes do not qualify |
| U.S. resident with an RN licence | Yes, subject to state authorisation | Check CU’s SARA disclosure for your state |
One point is unresolved. CU’s international page says many graduate programmes require a current nursing licence, but it does not say whether i-LEAD students abroad need a U.S. RN licence or whether a home-country licence is enough. Email CU nursing admissions with that exact question before you pay the NursingCAS fee.
The route for a foreign-educated nurse
- Ask CU about i-LEAD and licensure: confirm in writing that you can study from your country and whether your current licence is accepted for the internship.
- Get a course-by-course evaluation: CU wants foreign transcripts listed in NursingCAS with a course-by-course evaluation sent there, and it suggests CGFNS International for nursing credentials.
- Meet the English rule: see the table below.
- For NP tracks, plan for the U.S.: you would need to attend in-person courses (F-1 possible for the on-campus portion), and NP clinical training and later practice usually require U.S. RN licensure, which means NCLEX-RN and a state board application.
- Apply through NursingCAS before the priority deadline for guaranteed faculty review.
CU Anschutz online MSN requirements
CU sends MS applicants to NursingCAS and lists detailed requirements on a separate admissions page that I could not open, so I have not printed GPA or experience minimums here. What the pages I checked confirm:
- Application through NursingCAS, with all schools attended listed and a course-by-course evaluation for foreign transcripts.
- A current nursing licence for many graduate programmes.
- Interviews: CU schedules priority-round interviews in February and March for fall entry.
English requirements
You meet CU’s English rule with any one of these:
| Option | Minimum |
|---|---|
| Internet-based TOEFL | 83 (or 4 on the new scale), with 26 (or 5) in speaking |
| IELTS | 6.5 overall, with 8 or higher in speaking, as CU’s page states |
| Citizenship | Citizen of a country where English is an official language |
| Prior study | A U.S. bachelor’s degree, two full-time semesters in a U.S. master’s, or graduation from a U.S. or UK accredited English-medium school abroad |
The citizenship route matters for Nigerian, Ghanaian and Kenyan applicants, since English is an official language in all three. CU’s page gives Australia, the UK and Canada (except Quebec) as examples, so confirm with admissions that your country counts before skipping the test.
CU Anschutz online MSN deadlines
| Term | Application opens | Priority deadline | Extended deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fall 2027 (all open MS specialties) | 15 August 2026 | 15 January 2027 | Rolling while places remain; i-LEAD lists 1 July 2027 |
| Spring 2027 (i-LEAD) | 15 January 2026 | 1 July 2026 (passed) | 1 November 2026 (passed) |
Applications verified by the priority deadline get guaranteed faculty review and priority scholarship consideration. For fall entry, CU makes final priority decisions in April and rolls extended decisions through 1 June. Spring 2027 entry for i-LEAD has closed, so the next spring date I would plan around is 1 July 2027 for spring 2028 (based on this year’s date; confirm on the official page when the call opens).
CU Anschutz online MSN tuition
CU’s 2026-27 rates for the College of Nursing:
| Charge | Resident | Non-resident |
|---|---|---|
| MS and DNP tuition, per credit | $820 | $1,330 |
| Master’s programme fee, per credit | $26.57 | $26.57 |
| Online course fee | $100 per online course | $100 per online course |
| Hybrid course fee | $50 per hybrid course | $50 per hybrid course |
| Academic support services fee | $64 per term | $64 per term |
| Matriculation charge (once) | $140 | $140 |
CU’s own estimated tuition totals, before fees:
| Specialty | Credits | Resident or WRGP | Non-resident |
|---|---|---|---|
| i-LEAD | 30 | $24,600 | $39,900 |
| Health Care Informatics | 34 | $27,880 | $45,220 |
| Veteran and Military Health Care | 33 | $27,060 | $43,890 |
| PMHNP | 52 | $42,640 | $69,160 |
| FNP | 56 | $45,920 | $74,480 |
Two discounts can cut the non-resident bill. Qualifying i-LEAD, informatics and veteran health students receive a $500 per credit institutional scholarship, which brings tuition close to the resident rate. Residents of WICHE states in the western U.S. can pay the resident master’s rate through the Western Regional Graduate Program. CU’s page does not say whether students living abroad qualify for the $500 award, so ask.
Costs not covered by tuition
- Student health insurance, which CU bills unless you waive it with comparable cover. The fee table lists $7,756 a year, and the College’s estimate puts it higher, so check the current figure.
- Books and supplies, which CU estimates at $2,000 for the programme.
- Travel to Aurora for on-campus courses in hybrid tracks, plus visa costs if you need an F-1 for those weeks.
- Credential evaluation, English tests and the NursingCAS fee.
- A reliable laptop and internet connection that can handle U.S. Mountain Time sessions.
Scholarships and financial aid
International students pay non-resident tuition and cannot receive U.S. federal aid. CU says about 15 to 20 percent of its nursing students receive scholarships, usually $1,000 to $5,000. The $500 per credit award above is the larger saving for online leadership students.
Accreditation
CU’s accreditation page names CCNE as the accreditor that reviews bachelor’s and master’s nursing programmes, the Higher Learning Commission as the university’s accreditor and ACME for midwifery. It does not state the MS programme’s CCNE term on that page, so check the CCNE directory if you need the dates. I found no published MS specialty certification pass rates.
How to write the CU Anschutz personal statement
If you are applying to i-LEAD from abroad, your statement has extra work to do: it must show that you can carry out a systems project where you work without being in Colorado.
- Name a specific problem in your hospital or health service, such as handover errors, bed flow or staff turnover.
- Show your current role and the authority you have to test changes.
- Explain how online study fits your shifts and the time difference with Colorado.
- Name the leadership role you want after graduating.
For illustration only, an i-LEAD applicant working in Nigeria might open like this:
“In my unit, a patient transferred from the emergency department waits an average of six hours for a bed, and most of that time is spent waiting on paperwork that nobody owns. I want to learn how to redesign that process and to measure whether the redesign works.”
Common mistakes foreign-educated nurses make
- Choosing a paused specialty: Health Care Informatics and Veteran and Military Health Care are not admitting for spring or fall 2027.
- Assuming the FNP is fully online: it is hybrid, with some in-person courses in Aurora.
- Expecting an F-1 for i-LEAD: CU says online-only programmes do not qualify.
- Not asking about licensure: get CU’s answer on licence requirements for i-LEAD before you apply.
- Missing the priority date: after 15 January 2027 places are filled on a rolling basis and can close.
Who should apply
i-LEAD is a reasonable fit for experienced nurses abroad who already hold supervisory roles and want a U.S. master’s in leadership without moving, provided CU confirms in writing that they can enrol from their country. U.S.-based RNs, especially in WICHE states, get one of the better-value NP routes among top-15 programmes.
If you want to become a nurse practitioner, CU is only realistic once you can travel to Colorado for in-person courses and hold a U.S. RN licence for clinical work.
How CU Anschutz compares with other top online MSN programmes
| Programme | U.S. News 2026 rank | Can you enrol from outside the U.S.? | Tuition basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| CU Anschutz (this guide) | No. 12 | Yes for fully online specialties (i-LEAD open for fall 2027); no F-1 | $820 (resident) or $1,330 (non-resident) per credit, 2026-27 |
| Ohio State online MSN | No. 1 | No | $1,158.58 per credit including fees |
| Duke University online MSN | No. 2 (tied) | Only with Duke’s confirmation; F-1 needed for intensives | $2,345 per credit (2026-27) |
| University of Alabama online MSN | No. 5 | No; residence and RN licence in an eligible state required | $480 per credit plus $25 college fee |
| University of Cincinnati online MSN | No. 19 | No; residents outside the U.S. cannot be admitted | $851 per credit plus $57 online fee for non-residents (2025-26, part time) |
For the references NursingCAS asks for, our recommendation letter guide with samples shows what referees should cover.
FAQs
Can I do the CU Anschutz online MSN from outside the U.S.?
CU says its fully online graduate options, including the i-LEAD leadership MS, are available to people living outside the U.S. Those programmes do not qualify for an F-1 visa, and you should confirm licence requirements with admissions.
Is the CU Anschutz online FNP fully online?
No. The FNP and the other nurse practitioner tracks are hybrid, with some courses that must be taken on campus in Aurora.
How much does the CU Anschutz online MSN cost?
For 2026-27, tuition is $820 per credit for residents and $1,330 for non-residents. CU estimates i-LEAD at $24,600 for residents and $39,900 for non-residents before fees.
What is the CU Anschutz online MSN deadline for fall 2027?
The priority deadline is 15 January 2027. Some programmes, including i-LEAD, stay open afterwards on a rolling basis while places remain.
Sources and updates
Checked on 29 October 2026. Ranking: CU Anschutz News, “CU Anschutz Nursing soars to 12 in national online master’s rankings” (January 2026). International rules, English tests and online-only programmes: CU Anschutz College of Nursing, international students. Specialties and admission status: CU Nursing graduate specialties page and graduate application deadlines. i-LEAD details: CU Nursing i-LEAD MS page. Tuition: CU Anschutz Student Finances, College of Nursing 2026-2027, and the College’s tuition and fees page. Accreditation: CU Nursing accreditation page. We will update this guide when CU reopens informatics or veteran health admissions.