UNTH School of Health Information Management Admission Requirements 2027/2028: Entrance Exam and Form

UNTH’s School of Health Information Management asks for five credits including English, Mathematics and Biology or Health Science, and sells forms in April or May. See the JAMB position, subject combination, ND and HND details and how to apply.

UNTH School of Health Information Management admission requirements, as the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital (UNTH), Ituku-Ozalla, Enugu, states them, are five SSCE credits including English Language, Mathematics and Biology or Health Science. The school trains health records officers at National Diploma (ND) and Higher National Diploma (HND) level, is accredited by the Health Records Officers Registration Board of Nigeria (HRORBN), and advertises and sells its forms in April or May each year. UNTH has not published a cut-off mark for the school, and its page does not say whether a UTME score is required.

2027/2028 update: UNTH School of Health Information Management admission requirements and entrance process usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the rules on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official information (UNTH’s school page and its 2024 to 2026 matriculation reports). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

The school, often called SHIM UNTH, is one of the oldest health records schools in the South East. It admits a fresh set every year: UNTH reported matriculations for Set 2023 in May 2024, Set 2024 in August 2025 and Set 2025 in August 2026. Below I set out what UNTH has confirmed, what it has not, how JAMB fits in, and what I would do to be ready when the 2027 advert appears.


UNTH School of Health Information Management admission requirements at a glance

ItemWhat UNTH or JAMB saysSource
O’levelFive SSCE credits including English Language, Mathematics and Biology or Health ScienceUNTH SHIM page
ProgrammesND and HND in Health Information Management (health records)UNTH SHIM page; UNTH news, August 2025
AccreditationHealth Records Officers Registration Board of NigeriaUNTH SHIM page
Form salesAfter the yearly advert in April or MayUNTH SHIM page
Entrance examNot described on the pageUNTH SHIM page
UTME required?Not stated by UNTHUNTH SHIM page
JAMB minimum (polytechnics and monotechnics)100 for 2026 admissionsJAMB policy meeting, 11 May 2026
Usual UTME subjects for ND Health Information ManagementEnglish, Mathematics, Chemistry, and Physics or BiologyJAMB brochure (Myschool reprint)
Fees and form priceNot publishedNone found

Is there a cut-off mark for UNTH Health Information Management?

No departmental cut-off mark has been published. UNTH’s school page lists only O’level credits and does not mention JAMB at all. The JAMB brochure entry for ND Health Information Management (as reprinted by Myschool) carries special remarks for the health information schools at LUTH, UBTH, UCH, OAUTHC and UMTH, but none that names UNTH. So I cannot tell you for certain whether SHIM UNTH admits through JAMB CAPS.

What is certain is the national floor. At its 11 May 2026 policy meeting, JAMB set 100 as the minimum UTME score for polytechnics and monotechnics for 2026 admissions, the same figure it used for 2025/2026. If UNTH’s 2027 advert asks for a UTME result, your score must be at least that.

SessionFigureWhat it is
2025/2026100JAMB national minimum for polytechnics and monotechnics
2026/2027100JAMB national minimum for polytechnics and monotechnics
Any yearNone publishedUNTH SHIM’s own cut-off

Safe target score (consultant advice)

This is my advice, not a UNTH figure. Register for the 2027 UTME with the health information subject combination and aim for 160 or more. That clears the national minimum by a wide margin, keeps you eligible if UNTH turns out to use CAPS, and gives you a backup at a polytechnic if SHIM does not work out. If UNTH confirms it does not use JAMB, nothing is lost except the registration fee.


O’level and UTME subject combination for Health Information Management

RequirementUNTH SHIM pageJAMB brochure, ND Health Information Management
O’level creditsFive, including English, Mathematics, Biology or Health ScienceFive, including English, Mathematics, Biology or Health Science, plus two from Chemistry, Physics, Geography, Economics, Religious Knowledge or a Nigerian language
UTME subjectsNot statedUse of English, Mathematics, Chemistry, and Physics or Biology
SittingsNot statedNot stated in the reprint

Teaching hospital schools vary in their remarks. For example, the brochure lets LUTH’s school take any three of Biology, Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry, and lets OAUTHC’s take Mathematics, Biology and one other. For UNTH, the safest pick is English, Mathematics, Biology and Chemistry, because it fits the general entry and every hospital remark listed. Confirm on the JAMB e-brochure when you register.

For revision, use our JAMB Biology syllabus and JAMB Chemistry syllabus guides.


UNTH SHIM entrance exam and screening

UNTH’s page says only that the school advertises in April or May and sells forms then. It does not describe an exam, an interview or how candidates are ranked. Health records schools at other teaching hospitals usually hold a written screening and a short interview within a few weeks of the form closing, and UNTH’s matriculation dates (May 2024, August 2025, August 2026) suggest the selected set resumes in the middle of the year after it applies.

Worked example (illustrative)

UNTH has not published a scoring method. If the school used a common 50:50 method, where the UTME score is divided by 8 and added to a screening score out of 50, it would work like this:

CandidateUTMEUTME ÷ 8Screening (out of 50)Aggregate (out of 100)
Ada20025.03459.0
Emeka16020.03858.0
Ngozi12015.03045.0

The point of the example: a solid screening score can make up for a modest UTME, but a low UTME leaves little room. Treat this as illustration only until UNTH publishes its method.


How to apply to UNTH School of Health Information Management

  1. Create your JAMB profile: send your NIN to 55019 or 66019 from your own line to get a profile code, then register for the 2027 UTME with English, Mathematics, Biology and Chemistry. Do this even before UNTH confirms whether it uses JAMB.
  2. Choose your institutions: if UNTH’s school appears on the JAMB list for ND Health Information Management, put it as your choice. If not, use a polytechnic that offers the course as your JAMB choice so you have a backup. Our JAMB change of institution guide explains how to switch later.
  3. Upload your O’level: at an accredited CBT centre, upload your WAEC or NECO result so it shows on JAMB CAPS. Admission through CAPS cannot happen without it.
  4. Watch for the UNTH advert from April: check unth.edu.ng and the UNTH portals in April and May 2027 (based on the school’s yearly pattern; confirm on the official notice when the call opens). Buy the form only through the channel named in the official notice.
  5. Sit the screening: bring your form, payment receipt, O’level result and UTME result slip if you have one.
  6. Accept on CAPS if it applies: if the offer comes through JAMB CAPS, log in and accept it. See our JAMB CAPS guide.
  7. Pay acceptance and school fees: pay only the amounts on your admission letter, through UNTH’s official payment channel, then register and prepare for matriculation.

Before you pay

UNTH has not published a SHIM form price or school fee online. If a blog or agent asks you to pay for a “UNTH SHIM form” into a personal account, stop. Confirm the advert on unth.edu.ng or with the school in person first.


Admission odds and advice

The school started with 25 students in 2001/2002, and UNTH has not published its current intake. It is a single-course school inside a teaching hospital, so places are limited. Your chances improve if you:

  • Have all five credits in one sitting, with a strong Mathematics grade.
  • Hold a UTME score well above 100, in case the school uses it.
  • Apply in the first weeks of the April or May sale instead of the last days.
  • Can show basic computer skills, since health records work is moving to electronic systems.

About the programme at UNTH

UNTH set up the school after a committee led by Prof. C. N. Obionu recommended it, during the tenure of Prof. B. A. N. Nwakoby as Chief Medical Director. It began in the 2001/2002 session with 25 students on Part I of the National Diploma, with Mr F. O. Amadi as pioneer course coordinator. UNTH’s August 2025 report on the Set 2024 matriculation mentions awards to the best graduating ND and HND students, so the school now runs both levels. The same report names Okonkwo Nneka as Acting Principal, after Mrs Abigail Eze.

At the school’s first matriculation and induction in May 2024, a representative of the Health Records Officers Registration Board said the board was working to secure approval for a BSc in Health Information Management. That degree is not on offer at UNTH as of this check.

What you study

UNTH has not posted a course list. Health information management diplomas in Nigeria generally cover medical records keeping and filing, coding of diseases and procedures, medical terminology, health statistics, basic anatomy, computer applications and records law, with practical postings in hospital records departments. UNTH does not state the ND’s length; ND programmes in Nigeria usually run for two years, with HND as a further two.

Accreditation

UNTH says the school is accredited by the Health Records Officers Registration Board of Nigeria, the body that registers and licenses health records officers. Graduands are inducted into the profession by the board, as happened for Set 2021 in 2024 and Set 2022 in 2025. National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) accreditation of the UNTH school is not confirmed on any page I found.

Careers

  • Health records officer in public and private hospitals and primary health care centres.
  • Data and monitoring roles in health programmes and NGOs.
  • Medical coding and health insurance claims work.
  • Hospital information systems support, after extra computer training.

Other UNTH schools to consider


UNTH Health Information Management: frequently asked questions

When will UNTH School of Health Information Management form come out? UNTH says it advertises and sells the form in April or May each year. For the 2027/2028 set, watch from April 2027.

Does UNTH SHIM accept JAMB? UNTH’s page does not mention JAMB, and the JAMB brochure remarks do not name the UNTH school. Register for the UTME anyway so you are covered either way.

Can I use Health Science instead of Biology for UNTH health records? Yes. UNTH asks for a credit in Biology or Health Science, alongside English and Mathematics.

Does UNTH offer HND in Health Information Management? Yes. UNTH’s August 2025 matriculation report mentions graduating ND and HND students of the school, although its older school page mentions only the ND.


Sources and updates

The O’level rule, advert months, history and accreditation come from UNTH’s School of Health Information Management page (last updated June 2020). The ND and HND detail and current acting principal come from UNTH’s Set 2024 matriculation report (6 August 2025); the BSc remark is from UNTH’s May 2024 report on the school’s first matriculation, and the Set 2025 matriculation from UNTH news in August 2026. The 100 minimum is from JAMB’s 2026 policy meeting as reported by the News Agency of Nigeria on 11 May 2026. The UTME subjects and hospital remarks come from the JAMB brochure as reprinted by Myschool. The safe target score, worked example and course outline are my advice and illustration. Checked on 29 October 2026; this page will be updated when UNTH advertises the 2027/2028 intake.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like