AKSU Cut-Off Mark for Medicine and Surgery 2027/2028: Requirements, Subject Combination and Screening

The AKSU cut-off mark for Medicine and Surgery, the JAMB subject combination, O’level rules, how AKSU screening works and a safe target score for 2027/2028 candidates.

The AKSU cut off mark for Medicine and Surgery 2027/2028 is 290 in the UTME, with AKSU as your first choice. AKSU set that minimum for its first MBBS screening in October 2026, after the National Universities Commission approved the programme in a letter dated 3 September 2026. This is a brand-new medical school, so there is no admission history yet and every figure on this page comes from the first intake.

2027/2028 update: AKSU cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. The general 150 minimum comes from the 2026/2027 notice, and the higher Health Sciences figure comes from the 2025/2026 advert, the latest one AKSU has published for these courses. If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

AKSU is starting a medical school. NUC approved a full-time MBBS at the Main Campus, Ikot Akpaden, in a letter dated 3 September 2026, from the 2026/2027 session, and AKSU ran its first MBBS screening from 20 to 28 October 2026.


AKSU cut off mark for Medicine and Surgery at a glance

Item2026/2027 positionSource
AKSU minimum UTME score for MBBS290, AKSU as first choiceAKSU notice, Myschool reprint (19 October 2026)
AKSU general minimum for other courses150AKSU notice, Myschool reprint (19 August 2026)
JAMB national minimum for universities150JAMB policy meeting, 11 May 2026
Screening fee₦2,000 plus bank chargesAKSU notices (2025/2026 and 2026/2027)
DegreeMBBS (full time, Main Campus, Ikot Akpaden)NUC approval via Myschool
UTME subjectsEnglish, Physics, Chemistry, BiologyJAMB brochure (Myschool reprint)
NUC statusNUC approved 3 Sep 2026; MDCN approval and quota not foundMyschool, 5 Sep 2026

AKSU Medicine and Surgery cut-off history

SessionFigureWhat it isStatus
2026/2027290Minimum UTME score for the first MBBS screeningAKSU notice via Myschool

There is only one year on record, because 2026/2027 is the first MBBS intake. AKSU set 290 for Nursing in 2025/2026 as well, which tells you where it pitches its most competitive health courses.


Safe target score for Medicine and Surgery at AKSU (my advice)

This is my judgement as an admissions adviser, not an AKSU rule. AKSU does not publish the score of the last candidate admitted into each course.

Your UTME scoreMy read for AKSU Medicine and Surgery
Below 290Not eligible for AKSU MBBS screening
290 to 304Eligible; borderline for a first intake
305 to 319Competitive
320 and aboveStrong. I would aim here.

For the 2027 UTME I would aim for at least 305, ideally 320. The first intake of any medical school is small, and the national pool of candidates above 290 who chose AKSU first will decide where the real line falls.

Catchment and state of origin

AKSU is owned by the Akwa Ibom State Government. None of the AKSU notices I read gives a catchment list or a quota for indigenes, and the 2026/2027 notice was open to any candidate who chose AKSU first and met the minimum. AKSU does ask for a certificate of origin at screening, so your state of origin is on record. The 45/35/20 merit, catchment and ELDS split you may have heard about is a federal university rule, so do not build your plan on it here.


UTME subject combination and O’level for AKSU Medicine and Surgery

RequirementMedicine and Surgery (JAMB brochure, Myschool reprint)
UTME subjectsUse of English plus Physics, Chemistry and Biology
O’levelFive credits in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology
Direct EntryA-level passes in Physics, Chemistry and Biology or Zoology plus UTME requirements, or a relevant first degree
AKSU-specific remark in the brochureNone. Remarks exist for about 30 universities, but not AKSU or UNIUYO.

The UTME line is fixed at Physics, Chemistry and Biology. At O’level you need all five sciences with English and Mathematics. Two sittings are common at other universities, but a first intake will have many candidates with one sitting, so one sitting is the stronger position.

I checked these lines on the Myschool brochure page for Medicine and Surgery. That is a reprint, so confirm the same lines on JAMB’s own e-brochure when you register; JAMB applies its own version, not Myschool’s.

Direct Entry into AKSU Medicine and Surgery

Direct Entry candidates registered in the same 2026/2027 screening window as UTME candidates. The part of the notice I could read did not set out DE rules, so the general brochure line in the table above is the best guide: A-level passes in Physics, Chemistry and Biology or Zoology plus UTME requirements, or a relevant first degree. Direct Entry students normally start at 200 level in Nigerian universities. Your A-level, ND or NCE result must be on your JAMB record before AKSU can recommend you on CAPS.

Is Medicine and Surgery on JAMB’s course list for AKSU?

Not yet, on the copy I checked. Myschool’s reprint of JAMB’s course list for Akwa Ibom State University (checked 3 November 2026) has 52 entries, and Medicine and Surgery is not among them. NUC approved the MBBS on 3 September 2026, and JAMB’s published list often lags behind new approvals. AKSU’s MBBS screening was open to 2026 UTME candidates with AKSU as first choice, so JAMB already treats the course as an AKSU option in some form. Before you register the 2027 UTME, search for AKSU and Medicine and Surgery on the JAMB e-Facility course list. If it still does not show, ask AKSU’s admissions office in writing how candidates are being admitted, because every genuine admission must pass through JAMB CAPS.


How AKSU screening works for Medicine and Surgery

DetailAKSU 2026/2027
Who could apply2026 UTME candidates with AKSU as first choice and 290 or more
Registration windowTuesday 20 October to Wednesday 28 October 2026 (closed)
Separate exerciseMBBS screening ran on its own, after the general window of 19 August to 22 September 2026
FeeNot stated in the reprint; the general AKSU screening fee is ₦2,000
Portalaksu.edu.ng/app is AKSU’s screening portal
Test or interviewNot stated in the reprint

The general notice was reprinted by Myschool on 19 August 2026; I could not open AKSU’s original. Myschool has also carried a headline about a 2026/2027 supplementary Post-UTME exercise at AKSU, which I could not open, so treat any second window as something to confirm on aksu.edu.ng.

Worked example for a Medicine and Surgery candidate

AKSU has not published an aggregate formula, so there is no official way to combine a UTME score and a screening score. What you can work out is the distance between your score, the minimum and my safe target. The two candidates below are illustrations.

Take Nsese, who scored 312 with A1 in Biology, B2 in Chemistry, B2 in Physics, B2 in Mathematics and B3 in English, one sitting.

  1. Eligibility: 312 minus 290 = 22. Nsese clears the minimum by 22 marks.
  2. Against my safe target: 312 is at or above 305, so Nsese is in the range I would call competitive.
  3. O’level check: all five credits the brochure lists, at one sitting. Nothing rules her out.
  4. What I would advise: confirm MBBS is open for AKSU on CAPS and ask AKSU about MDCN approval and quota, then list it; she is competitive.

Akanimo scored 286. He missed the 290 minimum by 4 marks, so he could not register for AKSU MBBS screening this year. If he wants to stay at AKSU, the Faculty of Health Sciences courses with a 265 bar are realistic.


How to apply for Medicine and Surgery at AKSU, step by step

  1. Get your profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN.
  2. Register the UTME: choose Medicine and Surgery with Physics, Chemistry and Biology, and make AKSU your first choice. If you did not, do a JAMB change of institution before AKSU’s screening opens.
  3. Upload your O’level to CAPS: at a JAMB-accredited CBT centre, as soon as your result is out.
  4. Watch aksu.edu.ng: the 2026/2027 window ran from 19 August to 22 September 2026, and AKSU says it does not consider candidates who miss it.
  5. Open the form: go to aksu.edu.ng/app, click START NOW, then Enroll, then PUTME, and enter your JAMB registration number.
  6. Pay ₦2,000: by debit card or bank transfer, plus bank charges.
  7. Upload and print: scan your UTME result slip, birth certificate and certificate of origin as .jpg files of 120KB to 150KB, preview, click Finish and print your confirmation slip. This is the procedure in AKSU’s January 2026 advert signed by the Registrar, Dr. Ebi G. Eno-Ibanga.
  8. Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, choose Check Admission Status and then Access my CAPS. JAMB allows four weeks to accept.
  9. Pay acceptance and clear: AKSU’s acceptance fee was not in any source I reached, so confirm it on the AKSU portal before you pay anything.

Warning

AKSU states that it has no individual or sales agents for admission, and that anyone who pays into a personal account does so at their own risk. Pay only through the AKSU portal, and check every offer on JAMB CAPS.

What happens after screening

AKSU recommends its candidates to JAMB, and offers appear on CAPS. If AKSU cannot place you in Medicine and Surgery, CAPS may show a transfer approval to a related course instead; you can accept or reject it, and rejecting it does not guarantee you a place in Medicine and Surgery. Once you accept, print your JAMB admission letter later from e-Facility, because AKSU’s clearance usually asks for it along with your O’level, birth certificate and certificate of origin.

JAMB set 31 October 2026 as the 2026/2027 admission deadline for public universities; that date has now passed. If you applied to AKSU this year, check your status on CAPS. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains what each status means.


Studying Medicine and Surgery at AKSU

AKSU’s notice did not name the college or faculty that will run the MBBS; it says the programme is at the Main Campus, Ikot Akpaden. An MBBS usually runs for six years in Nigeria, followed by a one-year housemanship and national youth service.

Accreditation

NUC approved the MBBS by letter of 3 September 2026, from 2026/2027. A medical school also needs approval and a yearly admission quota from the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN), and graduates can only be registered as doctors if MDCN has approved the school. I found no MDCN approval or quota for AKSU in any source I reached, so MDCN status is not confirmed. Ask AKSU in writing for its MDCN approval letter and quota before you pay acceptance.

What you study

  • Pre-clinical sciences: anatomy, physiology and biochemistry
  • Pharmacology, pathology and microbiology
  • Clinical postings in medicine, surgery, paediatrics and obstetrics and gynaecology
  • Community medicine and psychiatry
  • Professional examinations at each stage and a final MBBS examination

Careers

  • Housemanship, then work as a medical officer
  • Residency training in a specialty
  • Public health, research and medical education
  • Work abroad after licensing exams in other countries

Revise with our JAMB Biology syllabus and JAMB Chemistry syllabus.


Mistakes that cost Medicine and Surgery applicants an AKSU place

  • Missing the separate MBBS window: it ran from 20 to 28 October 2026, after the general window had closed.
  • Paying before checking MDCN status: registration as a doctor depends on it.
  • Treating the minimum as an admission score: 290 is the line for registering. Places go to stronger candidates first.
  • AKSU not as first choice: the 2026/2027 notice was open only to candidates who chose AKSU first.
  • Missing the screening window: AKSU says late candidates are not considered.
  • Wrong scan sizes: the portal asked for .jpg files of 120KB to 150KB.
  • Accepting on CAPS and stopping there: acceptance fee and clearance at AKSU are separate steps.

In Akwa Ibom, the University of Uyo has the longer-established medical school. If you miss AKSU MBBS, AKSU’s Nursing Science and Medical Laboratory Science are the closest options inside AKSU.

If you are writing the UTME again, read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and how to check your JAMB result and what to do with the score.


AKSU cut off mark for Medicine and Surgery: frequently asked questions

What is the AKSU cut off mark for Medicine? AKSU set 290 for its first MBBS screening in 2026/2027, with AKSU as first choice.

Does AKSU offer Medicine and Surgery? Yes. NUC approved a full-time MBBS at the Main Campus, Ikot Akpaden, by letter dated 3 September 2026, from 2026/2027.

Is AKSU Medicine approved by MDCN? Not confirmed. I found no MDCN approval or quota for AKSU, so ask the university before paying acceptance.

Is 300 enough for Medicine in AKSU? 300 clears the 290 minimum, but it sits in my borderline range for a small first intake. I would aim for 305 or more.


Sources and updates

The 150 minimum, the first-choice rule, the 19 August to 22 September 2026 window and the ₦2,000 fee come from AKSU’s 2026/2027 Post-UTME and Direct Entry notice as reprinted by Myschool (19 August 2026); I could not open the original. The portal steps, the document list and scan sizes, the no-agents warning and the Registrar’s name come from AKSU’s official Faculty of Health Sciences advert (3 January 2026). The NUC approval of 3 September 2026 comes from Myschool (5 September 2026), and the 290 minimum and the 20 to 28 October 2026 screening window from Myschool’s reprint of AKSU’s MBBS notice (19 October 2026). The national minimum of 150, the 31 October 2026 deadline and the four-week CAPS window come from the News Agency of Nigeria (11 May 2026). Subject requirements are from the JAMB brochure reprint on Myschool (checked 3 November 2026), and the course list from Myschool’s copy of JAMB’s AKSU list. Safe target scores and the worked example are my advice, not AKSU figures. Checked on 3 November 2026; this page will be updated when AKSU publishes its 2027/2028 notice.

0 Shares:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like