Rhema University Political Science Cut-Off Mark 2027/2028 and Admission Requirements

Rhema University, Aba has not published a Political Science cut-off, so JAMB’s 150 is the official minimum. See the safe target score, UTME subjects, the Mathematics credit, Direct Entry, screening and the course name JAMB lists for Rhema.

If you want the Rhema University Political Science cut-off mark 2027/2028, the official figure is 150 in the UTME. JAMB fixed 150 as the national minimum for universities at its 2026 policy meeting. Rhema University, Aba has not published its own cut-off for Political Science, and it is not on the list of institutions that declared their own figures at that meeting. Score 150 or more, choose Rhema and hold the right O’level credits, and you can apply.

2027/2028 update: Rhema cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

Rhema’s admissions page calls the degree B.Sc. Political Science, but JAMB’s course list for Rhema, as reprinted by Myschool, shows Political Science and Public Administration. Below I show how to register so you meet the rules for both names. You will also find the official figures, a safe target score, O’level and Direct Entry rules, screening, a worked example and the CAPS steps.


Rhema University Political Science cut-off mark 2027/2028: what is official

ItemPositionStatus
JAMB minimum for universities (2026/2027)150Official (JAMB policy meeting, 11 May 2026)
Rhema minimum for Political ScienceNot publishedNo Rhema figure on its own pages or on the 2026 list of declared cut-offs
Departmental merit cut-offNot publishedRhema does not release the lowest score it admitted
Screening for this courseNot publishedThe only confirmed Rhema screening notice covered MBBS and Nursing
UTME subjectsEnglish, Government or History, plus two other arts or social science subjectsJAMB brochure (Myschool reprint); Rhema has no special remark
O’levelFive credits: English, Mathematics, Government or History, plus other relevant subjectsRhema admissions page
DegreeB.Sc. Political ScienceRhema admissions page

Rhema University is on Aba-Owerri Road in Aba, Abia State. A few websites list a “Rhema University” in Obeama-Asa, Rivers State. That is a mix-up; this guide is about the Aba university.


Rhema Political Science cut-off history

SessionFigureWhat it isStatus
2026/2027150JAMB national minimum for universitiesOfficial, JAMB 2026 policy meeting
2025/2026150JAMB national minimum for universitiesJAMB 2025 policy meeting
Any sessionNoneRhema-declared Political Science cut-offNot published in any source I reached

A 2018/2019 “Rhema cut-off mark for all courses” list still shows up on blogs. It cites no Rhema notice, so treat it as unofficial and out of date.


Safe target score for Political Science at Rhema (my advice)

Political Science is popular in Nigerian universities, but private schools such as Rhema generally see fewer applicants per place than the federal and state universities in the South-East. Rhema does not publish its intake figures, so these bands are my judgement as an admissions adviser. They are not a Rhema rule.

Your UTME scoreMy read for Rhema Political Science
Below 150Not eligible through UTME
150 to 159Eligible; your Government (or History) and Mathematics credits must be in place
160 to 179Reasonable chance
180 to 199Good chance
200 and aboveStrong

For the 2027 UTME, aim for 180 or more. If you are also considering Law elsewhere, push much higher, because Law cut-offs at most universities sit well above 200. Rhema itself does not offer Law.


Political Science or Political Science and Public Administration?

Rhema’s own admissions page lists B.Sc. Political Science. Myschool’s copy of JAMB’s course list for Rhema has no plain “Political Science”; it shows Political Science and Public Administration. The JAMB brochure has separate entries for the two names, with slightly different rules:

RulePolitical Science (JAMB brochure)Political Science and Public Administration (JAMB brochure)
UTMEGovernment or History, plus two other arts or social science subjectsAny three arts or social science subjects
O’levelFive credits: English, Government or History, plus three others; a pass in MathematicsFive credits including English and Government or History; at least a pass in Mathematics
Direct Entry (A-level)Two passes including Government or HistoryTwo passes in Government and one other social science subject
Rhema remarkNoneNone

The safe move is to register in a way that satisfies both entries:

  • On the JAMB portal, select the course name that appears under Rhema University when you register, and check it against Rhema’s portal when you apply.
  • Take Government in the UTME with two other arts or social science subjects. Government meets the Political Science rule and is also an arts or social science subject for the combined course.
  • For Direct Entry, make Government one of your A-level or IJMB subjects, with another social science such as Economics.

If the names on JAMB and Rhema’s portal do not match in your year, call the admissions office before you pay for anything.


UTME subject combination and O’level for Rhema Political Science

RequirementPolitical Science at Rhema
UTME subjectsUse of English, Government (or History), plus two other arts or social science subjects
O’levelFive credits: English Language, Mathematics, Government or History, plus other relevant subjects
Exams acceptedWASSCE or NECO SSCE
SittingsNot stated for this course
Entry modesUTME into 100 level; Direct Entry into 200 level

A credit in Mathematics, not just a pass

Both JAMB brochure entries ask only for a pass in Mathematics. Rhema’s admissions page goes further and names Mathematics among the five credits, alongside English and Government or History. Rhema’s list is what its admissions officers will check. If your Mathematics is a D7 or E8, either resit it before applying or confirm with Rhema that a pass will be accepted.

Good UTME combinations

  • Use of English, Government, Economics, CRS
  • Use of English, Government, Literature in English, History
  • Use of English, Government, Geography, Economics

Direct Entry into Political Science

Rhema admits Direct Entry candidates to 200 level with five O’level credits plus one of these:

  • A-level GCE passes in at least two relevant subjects
  • The IJMB certificate
  • NCE in relevant subjects
  • ND at upper credit in a relevant field
  • HND at lower credit in a relevant field
  • A first degree in a related field

Rhema has no special Direct Entry remark on either JAMB brochure entry. NCE holders in Political Science or Social Studies combinations and ND holders in Public Administration should confirm that their field counts as relevant.


Rhema post-UTME and screening for Political Science

Rhema has not published a screening procedure for Political Science in any source I reached. The one screening notice I could confirm, reprinted by Myschool on 10 September 2025, was for MBBS and Nursing candidates. It held on 16 September 2025 at the Academic Block in Aba, with extra centres in Abuja (Gwarimpa) and Lagos (Ojodu Berger), and candidates were told to bring a passport photograph and writing materials.

Some blogs say every Rhema applicant sits a computer-based test. They cite no notice from the university, and one of them quotes two different form prices. For Political Science, apply on the portal early and ask the admissions office directly whether you will be tested.

Worked example (illustrative only)

Rhema has not published an aggregate formula. I compare two candidates with the 150 floor and my 180 target, and, in case a test is held, use the 50:50 method common at Nigerian universities: UTME divided by 8, plus half the screening percentage. This is my illustration, not Rhema’s method.

  1. Chinonso: UTME 186 with Government, Economics and CRS. Credits in English, Mathematics, Government, Economics and CRS. He is 6 above my target.
  2. If there is a test: Chinonso scores 54%. 186 ÷ 8 = 23.25, plus 27, gives an illustrative aggregate of 50.3.
  3. Somtochukwu: UTME 165 (20.6) and 68% at screening (34), for 54.6. A good test would carry her past him.
  4. Ebuka: UTME 198 with History, Literature and CRS, and a History credit instead of Government. He meets both JAMB rules and Rhema’s O’level list, so he can apply. Government would still have been the safer subject, because the combined course asks for A-level Government at Direct Entry.

How to apply for Political Science at Rhema, step by step

  1. Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN. JAMB replies with the profile code you use to buy the UTME form.
  2. Register the UTME: pick the Rhema course listed on the JAMB portal (shown as Political Science and Public Administration on JAMB’s Rhema course list) with Use of English, Government and two other arts or social science subjects, and choose Rhema University. If you already chose another school, do a JAMB change of institution; if you registered a different course, see our JAMB change of course guide.
  3. Upload your O’level to CAPS: go to a JAMB office or accredited CBT centre with your WAEC or NECO result. If you used two sittings, upload both. Without this upload, Rhema cannot send you an offer.
  4. Apply on Rhema’s portal: on rhemauniversity.edu.ng, open Admissions, click “Apply Now”, sign in, fill the form for Political Science and print the acknowledgement slip.
  5. Confirm any screening: call 08107159322 or 08076846648 and ask whether Political Science candidates sit a test or interview that year, and where.
  6. Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, choose Check Admission Status, then Access my CAPS, and accept the offer. JAMB gave candidates four weeks to accept in 2026. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains every status you might see.
  7. Pay acceptance and clear: Rhema does not publish its acceptance fee in any source I reached. Get the amount from the university itself, pay only into its official account, then go for clearance with your original documents.

Warning

Blogs quote different prices for Rhema’s admission form, and some carry “admission” adverts with email addresses that are not Rhema’s. Pay only what Rhema’s own portal or admissions office tells you, ignore agents who promise a place, and remember that a genuine offer always shows on JAMB CAPS.


Studying Political Science at Rhema University

Rhema University is a private Christian university in Aba, established in 2010 according to its own news page. Its admissions page lists a B.Sc. in Political Science. It does not state the duration or name the college; in Nigeria the degree normally takes four years through UTME and three through Direct Entry.

Accreditation

Rhema’s admissions page says all its courses are accredited by the National Universities Commission and relevant professional bodies. I could not find a published NUC accreditation result for Political Science (or Political Science and Public Administration) at Rhema, so treat the current status as not confirmed. Ask the department for its status and the exact name on the degree certificate before you pay.

What you study

  • 100 level: introduction to political science, Nigerian government and politics, introduction to economics and sociology, and general studies.
  • Political theory: classical and modern political thought, and African political thought.
  • Comparative and international politics: comparative government, international relations, Nigerian foreign policy and international organisations.
  • Public administration: public policy analysis, local government administration and public personnel management.
  • Final year: research methods, electives such as electoral studies or political economy, and a research project.

Careers after Political Science

Graduates go into the civil service at federal, state and local levels, legislative and political aides’ offices, electoral bodies, NGOs and civil society groups, journalism and policy research, and the public affairs units of companies. Many use it as a base for a later Law degree, a master’s in international relations or public administration, or the foreign service.


Mistakes Political Science applicants make

  • No Government or History credit: one of the two is required by Rhema and JAMB.
  • Only a pass in Mathematics: Rhema’s page asks for a credit.
  • Ignoring the course name on JAMB: check what JAMB lists for Rhema before you register.
  • Taking a science subject in the UTME: stick to arts and social sciences.
  • Stopping at CAPS acceptance: you still need to pay acceptance and clear at Rhema.

Next exam on your mind? Read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and how to check your JAMB result.


Rhema University Political Science cut-off mark 2027: frequently asked questions

What is the cut-off mark for Political Science at Rhema University? The official minimum is JAMB’s 150 for universities. Rhema has not published a departmental figure, so I recommend aiming for 180 or more.

What are the JAMB subjects for Political Science? Use of English, Government or History, and two other arts or social science subjects. Taking Government also covers the combined Political Science and Public Administration course that JAMB lists for Rhema.

Can I study Political Science at Rhema without Government? Yes, if you have History instead. Rhema accepts a credit in Government or History, but Government is the safer choice for Direct Entry and the combined course.

Is Mathematics required for Political Science at Rhema? Yes. Rhema’s admissions page lists a credit in Mathematics among the five O’level credits, which is stricter than the pass JAMB’s general rule asks for.


Sources and updates

The O’level list (including the Mathematics credit), Direct Entry options, 200-level entry, the “Apply Now” route, the number 08076846648, the course name B.Sc. Political Science and Rhema’s general accreditation statement come from Rhema University’s admissions page (undated, checked 29 October 2026). The course name Political Science and Public Administration comes from Myschool’s copy of JAMB’s Rhema course list. The UTME, O’level and Direct Entry rules for both names come from Myschool’s reprints of the JAMB brochure entries for Political Science and for Political Science and Public Administration, checked 29 October 2026; Rhema has no remark on either. The MBBS and Nursing screening of 16 September 2025 and the number 08107159322 are from Myschool’s reprint of Rhema’s notice (10 September 2025). The national minimum of 150 and the four-week CAPS window come from the News Agency of Nigeria (11 May 2026); News Central’s list of declared cut-offs from that meeting does not include Rhema. The safe target score, worked example and registration advice are my own. Checked on 29 October 2026; this page will be updated if Rhema publishes a Political Science cut-off or screening notice.

0 Shares:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like