AKSCONS Oron Campus Midwifery Admission Requirements 2027/2028, Entrance Exam and Form

AKSCONS Oron (Iquita) campus trains midwives only. See the last basic and post-basic midwifery requirements, fees and exam, why the 190 nursing cut-off does not apply, and how to apply.

The AKSCONS Oron campus, in Iquita-Oron, trains midwives only. NMCN’s December 2025 list gives it Full approval for midwifery and lists no general nursing programme there. So the admission requirements that matter for Oron are those for midwifery: the last basic midwifery advert (2023) asked for credits in English, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics in not more than two sittings, a minimum age of 16, a fee of ₦14,000 or ₦17,000 and an entrance exam; the last post-basic advert (2024) asked for a Registered Nurse certificate and current licence plus the same credits. Neither used JAMB.

2027/2028 update: AKSCONS Oron campus midwifery admission requirements and entrance exam process usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the requirements on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest notice we could find (the 2023 basic and 2024 post-basic adverts). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

Oron is part of Akwa Ibom State College of Nursing Sciences (AKSCONS). Forms are sold centrally, not at Oron: the 2023 and 2024 midwifery forms were sold at the Ikot Ekpene campus. The college’s 2026/2027 advert was for ND Nursing only, with a UTME minimum of 190, and since Oron has no listed nursing programme, that intake is unlikely to be trained there.


AKSCONS Oron campus at a glance

ItemOron campusSource
Former nameSchool of Post Basic Midwifery, Iquita-OronNMCN August 2022 list
HistoryMidwifery training roots in the 1930sWikipedia
NMCN status (Dec 2025)Midwifery Full (Sept 2021); no nursing listedNMCN December 2025 list
NMCN quota (Aug 2022)Post-basic midwifery 50NMCN August 2022 list
Last basic midwifery advert2023: entrance exam, no JAMBStudentship reprint
Last post-basic advert2024: RN and licence, no JAMBStudentship reprint
Where forms were soldIkot Ekpene campus (2023, 2024)Adverts
2025 or 2026 midwifery advertNot foundSearches up to 3 November 2026

Is there a cut-off mark for AKSCONS Oron?

Not for midwifery on the record. The 190 figure you may see quoted with Oron belongs to the college-wide ND Nursing intake for 2026/2027, and Oron does not run general nursing on NMCN’s list. Here is how the figures line up:

RouteEntry testFigureApplies to Oron?
ND Nursing (2026/2027)UTME + screening190, AKSCONS first choiceUnlikely; no nursing listed at Oron
Basic midwifery (2023)Entrance examNo UTMEYes, Oron trains midwives
Post-basic midwifery (2024)College selection for RNsNo UTMEYes; Oron quota 50 (2022)
JAMB minimum, colleges of nursing (2026)UTME150Only if midwifery moves to JAMB

Safe plan (my advice)

Because no midwifery advert has appeared since 2023 and the college now admits nursing through JAMB, I would write the 2027 UTME with Use of English, Biology, Chemistry and Physics, put AKSCONS first and aim for 200 or more. If a basic midwifery advert appears with its own exam, you lose nothing. If midwifery moves to JAMB, you are ready.


O’level and other requirements for midwifery at Oron

RequirementBasic midwifery (2023)Post-basic midwifery (2024)
O’levelEnglish, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics at creditSame five credits
SittingsNot more than two; NABTEB not combinableNot more than two
ProfessionalNoneRN certificate and current practising licence
Age16 and aboveNot stated
Fee₦14,000 (indigene) or ₦17,000 (non-indigene)Not stated
ExamSaturday 16 September 2023, Aka Community Secondary School, Aka Offot, UyoNot stated

Worked example (illustrative)

  1. Edikan, 18, from Oron: WAEC with all five credits, no nursing qualification. Her route is basic midwifery, and she should also register for the UTME with AKSCONS first in case the format changes.
  2. Nurse Asuquo, RN since 2021: current licence and five credits. His route is post-basic midwifery; Oron is one of three campuses NMCN listed for it in 2022.
  3. Utibe, 19: 2026 UTME 205 with AKSCONS first. She qualified for the ND Nursing screening, but if she wants to train at Oron specifically, she should know Oron has no nursing programme on NMCN’s list.

How to apply for midwifery training at Oron

  1. Decide your route: basic midwifery if you are not a nurse; post-basic if you are a registered nurse.
  2. Get your JAMB profile code anyway: send NIN and your NIN to 55019 or 66019, and register for the UTME with AKSCONS first.
  3. Watch for the advert: on www.akscons.edu.ng. In 2023 basic midwifery forms sold from late August; in 2024 post-basic forms sold from late January. These are past dates, not announcements.
  4. Register where the advert says: it was Ikot Ekpene in 2023 and 2024, not Oron.
  5. Bring your documents: O’level, birth certificate or age declaration, certificate of origin, change of name papers, passport photographs, and for nurses the RN certificate, licence and testimonial.
  6. Sit the exam or interview, then check the list on the college website.
  7. If admission runs through JAMB, accept on CAPS: see our JAMB CAPS guide.

Warning

AKSCONS warned in its 2026 advert that applicants should not pay anyone for admission, and the Federal Government has said admissions outside JAMB CAPS are illegal. Phone numbers and “form out, call now” posts on dataset and forum sites are not official. Apply only through www.akscons.edu.ng.


How Oron compares with other AKSCONS campuses

AKSCONS campusNMCN list, December 2025NMCN admission quota (as of August 2022)
Anua, UyoNursing Full (Sept 2021); Midwifery Full (Sept 2021)Basic nursing 75; post-basic midwifery 50
Ikot Ekpene (main campus)Nursing Full (Sept 2021); Midwifery Full (Sept 2021)Basic nursing 75
Ituk-Mbang, UruanNursing Full (Sept 2021); Midwifery listed, status line unclearBasic nursing (quota illegible); post-basic midwifery 50
EketNursing Provisional (Jan 2021); Mental Health/Psychiatric Nursing Full (Feb 2021)Basic nursing 50; psychiatric nursing 30
Iquita-OronMidwifery Full (Sept 2021); no nursing programme listedPost-basic midwifery 50

NMCN gives Full approval for five years and Provisional approval for two. Most AKSCONS dates are from 2021, so on paper several have run past their term, and the December 2025 list simply repeats them. That usually means NMCN has not published a newer visit, not that a campus has lost approval. Still, check the current NMCN list before you accept an offer.


About midwifery at Oron

Oron’s connection with midwifery training goes back to the 1930s, according to Wikipedia’s history of the college. It became an AKSCONS campus after the state law of 13 September 2021 merged the old schools. The college has not published which midwifery years or programmes are taught at Oron now.

What midwifery students study

  • Anatomy and physiology of reproduction.
  • Antenatal care, labour and delivery, and care after birth.
  • Newborn care, breastfeeding and immunisation.
  • Obstetric emergencies and referral.
  • Labour ward and community postings, ending in NMCN’s midwifery exam.

Careers

  • Maternity work: labour wards, antenatal clinics and maternity homes.
  • Primary health care: health centres across the riverine areas and beyond.
  • Registration: with NMCN as a midwife after passing its exam.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying an “Oron nursing form”: NMCN lists no general nursing at Oron, and forms are sold centrally.
  • Assuming the 190 cut-off applies to midwifery: it was set for ND Nursing.
  • Mixing NABTEB with WAEC or NECO: not allowed in the 2023 midwifery advert.
  • Applying for post-basic without a current licence.

Revision plan for the midwifery entrance exam

The 2023 advert did not describe the exam. Nursing and midwifery entrance exams in Nigeria usually test the five O’level science subjects and English at WAEC level, so revise Biology (especially human reproduction and physiology), Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and English comprehension. Our JAMB Biology syllabus is a useful checklist for the Biology topics.

AKSCONS Oron campus: frequently asked questions

Does AKSCONS Oron campus offer general nursing? Not on NMCN’s December 2025 list, which shows only midwifery (Full, September 2021) for Iquita-Oron.

Is School of Midwifery Oron form out? I found no midwifery advert after the 2023 basic and 2024 post-basic exercises. Forms were sold at Ikot Ekpene, not Oron.

Do I need JAMB for midwifery at Oron? The last adverts did not use JAMB. Because AKSCONS nursing now uses JAMB, I would register for the UTME with AKSCONS first to be safe.

What is the cut off mark for AKSCONS Oron? There is no published midwifery cut-off. The 190 figure was for the 2026/2027 ND Nursing intake.


Sources and updates

AKSCONS campus statuses come from the NMCN’s list of approved schools (December 2025) and the earlier August 2022 list with admission quotas, which gives the quotas. The 2026/2027 ND Nursing advert (online registration 1 September to 2 October 2026, 190 in the 2026 UTME, first choice, five credits, age 16, screening on 10 October 2026 at Aka Offot) is from Myschool News of 1 September 2026, with the dates confirmed by abstechconnect on 2 September 2026. The 2025/2026 admission list notice is from abstechconnect (30 June 2026). The 2024/2025 in-person registration is from a Myschool reprint of 10 September 2024; the 2023 basic midwifery and 2024 post-basic adverts are from Studentship reprints dated 8 March 2024. The college’s founding law of 13 September 2021, its campuses and founding years, its monotechnic status and the 2024 NBTE and NMCN ND/HND accreditation come from Wikipedia (one undated reference). JAMB’s 150 minimum for colleges of nursing for 2026 and the 31 December 2026 deadline for monotechnics are from the News Agency of Nigeria (11 May 2026); the 140 figure for 2025 is from Nairametrics (8 July 2025). UTME subjects are JAMB’s usual nursing combination and were not stated in the advert. The 2023 basic and 2024 post-basic midwifery details come from the Studentship reprints (dated 8 March 2024). Form and school fees were not published. Checked on 3 November 2026.

0 Shares:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like