AKSCONS ND Nursing Admission Requirements 2027/2028 and Cut-Off

AKSCONS asked for 190 in the UTME with the college as first choice, five science credits and a post-UTME screening for 2026/2027 ND Nursing. See the O’level rules, NMCN status by campus and how to apply for 2027/2028.

The AKSCONS ND Nursing admission requirements for the 2026/2027 session were a score of at least 190 in the 2026 UTME with Akwa Ibom State College of Nursing Sciences (AKSCONS) as first choice, five O’level credits including English, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics in not more than two sittings, a minimum age of 16, online registration at www.akscons.edu.ng, and a pass in the college’s post-UTME screening. The 190 figure is the college’s own; JAMB’s national minimum for colleges of nursing in 2026 was 150.

2027/2028 update: AKSCONS cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.

The 2026/2027 exercise has finished: registration ran from 1 September to 2 October 2026 and screening held on 10 October 2026. This page is for 2027/2028 candidates. One application covers all AKSCONS campuses; you do not apply to Anua, Eket, Ikot Ekpene or Ituk-Mbang separately.


AKSCONS ND Nursing admission requirements at a glance

ItemAKSCONS 2026/2027 ND Nursing advert
ProgrammeND Nursing (the college runs ND/HND Nursing)
ApplicationOnline only at www.akscons.edu.ng
Registration periodTuesday 1 September to Friday 2 October 2026 (closed)
UTMEAt least 190 in the 2026 UTME, with AKSCONS as first choice
O’levelFive credits including English, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics in WASSCE, NECO or NABTEB; not more than two sittings; WASSCE and NECO can be combined, NABTEB cannot
Age16 years or older by September 2026
ScreeningSaturday 10 October 2026, 7:00 a.m., Aka Community Secondary School, Aka Offot, Uyo (held)
What to bringColoured printout of the online acknowledgement slip
Form feeNot stated in the advert reprints
Fraud warningThe college warned applicants not to pay anyone for admission

AKSCONS cut-off mark for ND Nursing

SessionAKSCONS figureJAMB minimum for colleges of nursingStatus
2026/2027190 (2026 UTME), AKSCONS first choice150Official advert (Myschool, 1 September 2026); JAMB 11 May 2026
2025/2026Not found in any advert reprint140JAMB minimum from Nairametrics (8 July 2025)
2024/2025No JAMB score stated (in-person registration at Ikot Ekpene)Not checked for this postMyschool reprint, 10 September 2024

190 is 40 marks above JAMB’s 2026 national minimum for colleges of nursing. The college only started asking for a UTME score when its nursing programme moved to the ND/HND structure; the 2024/2025 exercise used in-person registration at Ikot Ekpene with no UTME score in the advert reprint.

Safe target score (consultant advice)

Aim for 210 or more. This is my advice, not an AKSCONS figure. 190 qualifies you for screening; the screening and the limited number of places decide the rest. NMCN’s last published basic nursing quotas for Anua, Ikot Ekpene and Eket add up to 200 places (August 2022 figures; the Ituk-Mbang figure is illegible), which is small next to the number of candidates who apply in a state this size.


UTME subject combination and O’level requirements

RequirementAKSCONS ND Nursing
UTME subjectsUse of English, Biology, Chemistry and Physics (JAMB’s usual nursing combination; the advert did not list subjects, so confirm on the JAMB e-brochure)
UTME score190 or more in 2026; AKSCONS first choice
O’level subjectsEnglish Language, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics, all at credit
ExamsWASSCE, NECO or NABTEB
SittingsNot more than two; WASSCE and NECO can be combined; NABTEB cannot be combined
Age16 or older by September of the admission year
Direct EntryNot offered in the advert

The NABTEB rule catches people out. You can use a NABTEB result on its own, but you cannot mix it with WASSCE or NECO.


AKSCONS post-UTME screening

The 2026 screening held on Saturday 10 October 2026 at 7:00 a.m. at Aka Community Secondary School, Aka Offot, Uyo. Candidates brought a coloured printout of their online acknowledgement slip. The same school hosted the 2023 basic midwifery exam, so it has become the college’s usual exam venue. The advert did not describe the format (paper or CBT), the subjects tested or an interview.

Worked example (illustrative)

AKSCONS has not published how it ranks candidates. These examples check eligibility against the 2026 rules, then show an assumed 50:50 split of UTME and screening to explain why the safe target matters.

  1. Idorenyin: 2026 UTME 205, AKSCONS first choice, WAEC credits in all five subjects, age 17. Eligible.
  2. Akanimo: UTME 230 but chose the University of Uyo first. Not eligible under the 2026 advert, which required AKSCONS as first choice.
  3. Ekemini: UTME 196, credits in English, Mathematics, Biology and Chemistry from NECO and Physics from NABTEB. Not eligible: NABTEB cannot be combined.
  4. Nkoyo: UTME 188, five credits in one sitting. Not eligible: below 190.
CandidateUTMEUTME out of 50Screening (assumed, out of 50)Illustrative total
Idorenyin20525.63055.6
A candidate with 24024030.03060.0

UTME out of 50 is the score divided by 400 and multiplied by 50. This is not AKSCONS’s formula, which is unpublished; it only shows that every extra 40 UTME marks is worth five points under an equal split.


How to apply for AKSCONS ND Nursing, step by step

  1. Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the line linked to your NIN.
  2. Register for the 2027 UTME with AKSCONS as first choice: the 2026 advert required first choice. Take Use of English, Biology, Chemistry and Physics, JAMB’s usual nursing combination (the advert did not list subjects; confirm on the JAMB e-brochure).
  3. Score well above 190: 190 was the 2026 floor. See the safe target above.
  4. Upload your O’level to CAPS: at a JAMB-accredited centre, so the college can see your five science credits.
  5. Watch for the AKSCONS advert: the 2026 exercise ran online from 1 September to 2 October 2026. This is last year’s timing, not an announcement for 2027. Check www.akscons.edu.ng and reliable education news sites.
  6. Register online and print the coloured acknowledgement slip: you need it at screening.
  7. Write the screening: in 2026 it held at Aka Community Secondary School, Aka Offot, Uyo, at 7:00 a.m. Arrive early with your slip.
  8. Check the admission list and accept on CAPS: AKSCONS publishes its list on www.akscons.edu.ng under Check Admission List. Then log in to efacility.jamb.gov.ng and accept the offer. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains each CAPS status.
  9. Pay acceptance and school fees through the college’s own channel: AKSCONS has not published its fees in any source I reached.

Warning

AKSCONS warned in its 2026 advert that applicants should not pay anyone for admission, and the Federal Government has said admissions outside JAMB CAPS are illegal. Phone numbers and “form out, call now” posts on dataset and forum sites are not official. Apply only through www.akscons.edu.ng.


Is AKSCONS accredited? Campus by campus

AKSCONS was created by a state law of 13 September 2021, which merged the state’s old schools of nursing and midwifery into one college. Wikipedia reports that it received NBTE and NMCN accreditation for ND/HND programmes in 2024 (one undated reference). NMCN’s December 2025 list shows each campus under “Akwa-Ibom State College of Nursing Science, Uyo”:

AKSCONS campusNMCN list, December 2025NMCN admission quota (as of August 2022)
Anua, UyoNursing Full (Sept 2021); Midwifery Full (Sept 2021)Basic nursing 75; post-basic midwifery 50
Ikot Ekpene (main campus)Nursing Full (Sept 2021); Midwifery Full (Sept 2021)Basic nursing 75
Ituk-Mbang, UruanNursing Full (Sept 2021); Midwifery listed, status line unclearBasic nursing (quota illegible); post-basic midwifery 50
EketNursing Provisional (Jan 2021); Mental Health/Psychiatric Nursing Full (Feb 2021)Basic nursing 50; psychiatric nursing 30
Iquita-OronMidwifery Full (Sept 2021); no nursing programme listedPost-basic midwifery 50

NMCN gives Full approval for five years and Provisional approval for two. Most AKSCONS dates are from 2021, so on paper several have run past their term, and the December 2025 list simply repeats them. That usually means NMCN has not published a newer visit, not that a campus has lost approval. Still, check the current NMCN list before you accept an offer.

The advert does not say how admitted students are placed across campuses. Ask at screening or after admission. If you are posted to Eket, note its nursing status was still Provisional on the December 2025 list; read the AKSCONS Eket campus page.


Admission odds and advice

  • Put AKSCONS first: the 2026 advert made it compulsory.
  • Clear 190 comfortably: 210 or more is my target.
  • Fix your O’level early: one sitting is cleanest; never mix NABTEB with WAEC or NECO.
  • Register in the first week: the 2026 window was about a month long.
  • Keep a backup: UNIUYO Nursing Science or Maurid College of Nursing.

JAMB set 31 December 2026 as the 2026/2027 deadline for polytechnics, monotechnics and colleges of education; Wikipedia describes AKSCONS as a monotechnic. For 2027/2028 the college will work to whatever deadline JAMB sets next.


About ND/HND Nursing at AKSCONS

AKSCONS has its head office and main campus at Ikot Ekpene, where the nursing school was founded in 1980. Its other campuses are Anua in Uyo (1946), Ituk-Mbang in Uruan (1967), Eket (1978) and Oron, whose midwifery training dates back to the 1930s. Its departments are Nursing Sciences, Midwifery, Mental Health/Psychiatric Nursing and General Studies. Wikipedia describes the programme as a four-year ND/HND in Nursing; the advert does not state the length.

What you study

  • Nursing foundations: anatomy, physiology, microbiology, pharmacology and nutrition.
  • Clinical nursing: medical, surgical, paediatric and maternal nursing, with ward postings in hospitals.
  • Community health: primary health care, health education and home visits.
  • Mental health and other areas: introductions to psychiatric nursing, emergency care and nursing ethics.
  • Professional exams: NMCN’s examinations, which lead to registration as a nurse.

Careers

  • Hospital nursing: public and private hospitals, clinics and primary health centres.
  • Registration: with the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria after passing its examinations; a current practising licence is needed to work.
  • Further training: post-basic courses such as midwifery or psychiatric nursing, or a BNSc at a university.
  • Other work: occupational health, school health services and NGO health programmes.

For UTME revision, see our JAMB Biology syllabus and JAMB Chemistry syllabus.


AKSCONS ND Nursing: frequently asked questions

What is the AKSCONS cut off mark for 2026/2027? 190 in the 2026 UTME, with AKSCONS as first choice. JAMB’s national minimum for colleges of nursing was 150.

Is AKSCONS form still on sale? No. The 2026/2027 online registration ran from 1 September to 2 October 2026. Watch www.akscons.edu.ng for the 2027/2028 advert.

Can I combine NECO and NABTEB for AKSCONS? No. The 2026 advert allows WASSCE and NECO to be combined, but NABTEB cannot be combined with another result.

Do I apply to a specific AKSCONS campus? No advert from 2024 to 2026 asked you to choose a campus. Registration is central, and placement is not explained in the notices.


Sources and updates

AKSCONS campus statuses come from the NMCN’s list of approved schools (December 2025) and the earlier August 2022 list with admission quotas, which gives the quotas. The 2026/2027 ND Nursing advert (online registration 1 September to 2 October 2026, 190 in the 2026 UTME, first choice, five credits, age 16, screening on 10 October 2026 at Aka Offot) is from Myschool News of 1 September 2026, with the dates confirmed by abstechconnect on 2 September 2026. The 2025/2026 admission list notice is from abstechconnect (30 June 2026). The 2024/2025 in-person registration is from a Myschool reprint of 10 September 2024; the 2023 basic midwifery and 2024 post-basic adverts are from Studentship reprints dated 8 March 2024. The college’s founding law of 13 September 2021, its campuses and founding years, its monotechnic status and the 2024 NBTE and NMCN ND/HND accreditation come from Wikipedia (one undated reference). JAMB’s 150 minimum for colleges of nursing for 2026 and the 31 December 2026 deadline for monotechnics are from the News Agency of Nigeria (11 May 2026); the 140 figure for 2025 is from Nairametrics (8 July 2025). UTME subjects are JAMB’s usual nursing combination and were not stated in the advert. Form and school fees were not published. Checked on 3 November 2026.

0 Shares:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like