The Maduka University Software Engineering cut off mark is 150 in the UTME. Maduka sets its cut-off at JAMB’s national minimum for universities, which was 150 for 2026, and it has not announced a separate, higher figure for Software Engineering. With 150 or more and the correct subjects (Mathematics and Physics are a must), you qualify to apply.
2027/2028 update: Maduka University cut-off marks usually stay the same from one year to the next, so the figures on this page are what 2027/2028 candidates should plan with. They come from the latest official notice (2026/2027). If the 2027/2028 notice changes anything, we will update this page.
Software Engineering is a B.Sc. in Maduka’s computing unit, listed among its current programmes in July 2026, and the university says NUC gave it full accreditation after the October to December 2025 exercise. On JAMB, the course is titled Software Engineering. This page covers the figures, the subjects, my safe target score, the application and CAPS steps, reported fees, and how the degree differs from Computer Science and Computer Engineering at Maduka.
One thing I could not open myself: Maduka’s course list in the JAMB brochure. Myschool’s copy was not reachable, and Maduka’s website loads nothing readable. A third-party copy of the list (universitycourses.ng, updated March 2026) includes Software Engineering. Even so, search for the course in the JAMB e-brochure or on the registration screen at your CBT centre and make sure Maduka University appears under it before you pay. Myschool shows Software Engineering under both the Sciences and the Engineering faculty pages, but it is the same JAMB course, so you will see one title when you register.
Maduka University Software Engineering cut off mark at a glance
| Item | 2026/2027 position | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Maduka minimum UTME score | 150 | Official (Maduka 2026/2027 notice, reprinted by Myschool, 15 May 2026) |
| JAMB national minimum for universities | 150 | Official (JAMB policy meeting, 11 May 2026) |
| Departmental cut-off for Software Engineering | Not published | No figure in any source |
| Course name to register on JAMB | Software Engineering | JAMB brochure title (Myschool reprint) |
| Degree | B.Sc., in the computing unit | Maduka programme lists (AndroidPols 2025, Teezab 2026, Erudites 2024) |
| UTME subjects | Use of English, Mathematics, Physics and one of Biology, Chemistry, Agricultural Science, Economics or Geography | JAMB brochure (Myschool reprint) |
| Post-UTME test | None published | No source describes one |
| NUC accreditation | Full | University press release, 29 July 2026 |
| 2026/2027 admission deadline (private universities) | 30 November 2026 | JAMB, 11 May 2026 |
Maduka Software Engineering cut-off history
| Session | Figure | What it is | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026/2027 | 150 | JAMB national minimum for universities | Official (JAMB policy meeting, 11 May 2026) |
| 2026/2027 | 150 | Maduka cut-off for all UTME applicants, Software Engineering included | Maduka 2026/2027 notice (“as approved for the 2026/2027 session”), reprinted by Myschool, 15 May 2026 |
| 2025/2026 | “The minimum approved by JAMB” | Maduka’s own wording in its 2025/2026 admission notice | Reprinted by Myschool, 19 May 2025 |
| 2025/2026 | 150 or above | Maduka minimum as reported | Blog report (AndroidPols, 16 November 2025) |
| Any session | Not published | Separate departmental cut-off for Software Engineering | No figure in any source I found |
Software Engineering has been on Maduka’s list since its first adverts in 2023, and in every cycle Maduka has followed JAMB’s minimum. Nothing I found suggests a departmental figure for 2027/2028, but I will update this page if one appears.
Safe target score for Software Engineering at Maduka (my advice)
These bands are my judgement, not a Maduka rule.
| Your UTME score | My read for Software Engineering at Maduka |
|---|---|
| Below 150 | Not eligible this session. Maduka’s IJMB or pre-degree, or a 2027 rewrite, are the options |
| 150 to 169 | Eligible, if your UTME had Mathematics and Physics |
| 170 to 189 | Comfortable |
| 190 and above | Strong. At 200 or more, ESUT’s Software Engineering (minimum 200) also opens up as a backup |
Software Engineering draws students who already code or want to build apps, so applicants tend to be motivated, but numbers are smaller than Computer Science. At Maduka, as at most private universities, clearing the minimum with the right subjects and finishing the paperwork matters more than chasing a very high score. I would aim for 170 or more for the 2027 UTME.
UTME subject combination and O’level for Software Engineering
| Requirement | Software Engineering |
|---|---|
| UTME subjects | Use of English, Mathematics, Physics, and one of Biology, Chemistry, Agricultural Science, Economics or Geography |
| O’level | Five credits including English Language, Mathematics, Physics and two other science subjects |
| Direct Entry | Two A-level passes in science subjects including Mathematics, or NCE merit in Mathematics and one other Science or Social Science subject |
| Maduka remark in the JAMB brochure | None seen; remarks on Myschool’s page are for FUTA, AUN, FUTO, Bowen, BUK and Al-Hikmah only |
| Sittings | Not stated by Maduka; one sitting is safest |
JAMB treats Software Engineering like Computer Science for entry. FUTA asks for Chemistry and AUN has its own combination, but those remarks do not apply to Maduka. If you might later want Computer Engineering, which is an engineering degree, sit Chemistry as your fourth subject so you can switch without rewriting.
Software Engineering, Computer Science or Computer Engineering at Maduka?
Maduka runs all three, and candidates often mix them up.
| Programme | Degree | Where it sits | What it emphasises | NUC status found |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Software Engineering | B.Sc. | Computing | Designing, building, testing and maintaining large software systems in teams | Full (university release, 2026) |
| Computer Science | B.Sc. | Computing | Theory of computing, algorithms and broad programming | Full (university release, 2026) |
| Computer Engineering | B.Eng. | Engineering | Hardware, electronics, embedded systems and the software that runs on them | Not confirmed |
If you enjoy writing code and want to work on products, Software Engineering fits. If you want the widest base, Computer Science does. If circuits and devices interest you, look at Computer Engineering at Maduka instead, and expect an engineering subject combination.
How admission works for Software Engineering at Maduka
Maduka has not published a written Post-UTME or an aggregate formula. Reports of the 2026/2027 notice describe an online application with a ₦5,000 form fee, and offers are made on JAMB CAPS.
| Detail | What is known |
|---|---|
| Eligible UTME score | 150 and above |
| Direct Entry | A-level, OND, NCE or equivalent (Maduka adverts as reported) |
| Form fee | ₦5,000, online |
| Written test | None published |
| Dates | Not published |
| Offers | On JAMB CAPS |
| Enquiries | admission@madukauniversity.edu.ng |
Worked example for a Software Engineering applicant
Illustrative only; Maduka publishes no aggregate.
Kelechi scored 158 in English, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, with C6 in Mathematics, C5 in Physics, C6 in Chemistry, C6 in Biology and C4 in English.
- Eligibility: 158 minus 150 = 8. He clears the minimum.
- Subjects: his UTME and O’level both fit JAMB’s rule for Software Engineering.
- Against my safe target: 170 minus 158 = 12, so he is below the score I call comfortable, though still eligible.
- My advice: apply early, make sure his O’level is on CAPS, and accept quickly once an offer shows. At a private university with no published merit list, a complete application at 158 can still succeed.
Reported fees for Software Engineering at Maduka
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and accommodation, each Computing and Engineering programme (2026/2027) | ₦900,000 a session | Maduka fee schedule as reprinted by The Vent Republic, 14 May 2026 |
| Same programmes in 2025/2026 | ₦690,000 a session | AndroidPols, 16 November 2025 (for comparison) |
| Application form | ₦5,000 | Fee schedule (The Vent Republic); paid online |
| Acceptance fee | ₦50,000, non-refundable | Fee schedule (The Vent Republic) |
| Payment plan | Two instalments (60% and 40%) | Fee schedule (The Vent Republic) |
| Feeding | Pay as you eat | Fee schedule (The Vent Republic) |
The 2026/2027 figures are Maduka’s own schedule as reprinted by The Vent Republic, which says the amount covers tuition and accommodation with no hidden charges; I could not open the original on Maduka’s site. Budget too for a laptop good enough for development tools, which every Software Engineering student needs from the first year.
How to apply for Software Engineering at Maduka, step by step
- Get your JAMB profile code: send NIN, a space and your 11-digit NIN to 55019 or 66019 from the phone line linked to your NIN.
- Register the UTME correctly: pick Software Engineering as your course, sit English, Mathematics, Physics and one allowed fourth subject, and put Maduka University as your first choice. If you chose another school, do a JAMB change of institution before you apply.
- Upload your O’level to CAPS: visit an accredited JAMB CBT centre once your WAEC, NECO or NABTEB result is out. Universities cannot offer you admission on CAPS without it.
- Apply on Maduka’s portal: create an applicant profile, enter your JAMB details and O’level grades, choose Software Engineering, and pay the ₦5,000 form fee online (reported to be through Paystack). Print the application slip.
- Follow up: Maduka has not published a written test, so watch your email and the portal for screening instructions or an invitation, and write to admission@madukauniversity.edu.ng if you hear nothing.
- Accept on CAPS: log in at efacility.jamb.gov.ng, open Check Admission Status, then Access my CAPS. Accept the offer only when it shows Software Engineering at Maduka. Our JAMB CAPS guide explains each status.
- Pay acceptance and clear: pay the ₦50,000 acceptance fee only through Maduka’s portal, then bring your original O’level, JAMB result slip and admission letter for clearance.
Warning
Every genuine university admission in Nigeria appears on JAMB CAPS, and JAMB treats admissions done outside CAPS as illegal. If anyone offers you a Maduka “slot” for money, ignore them. Pay fees only through the university’s own portal invoice.
JAMB set 30 November 2026 as the 2026/2027 admission deadline for private universities, so Maduka’s 2026/2027 offers run until that date. If you sat the 2026 UTME and applied, check CAPS now. If you are writing the 2027 UTME, read when JAMB 2027 registration starts and our guide to checking your JAMB result and what to do with the score.
Studying Software Engineering at Maduka University
The programme sits in Maduka’s computing unit at Ekwegbe, Igbo-Etiti LGA, Enugu State. Computing B.Sc. degrees in Nigeria normally run for four years; Maduka has not stated the duration on a page I could read.
Accreditation
Maduka’s press release of 29 July 2026 (Premium Times, republished by AllAfrica) says NUC assessed seven programmes between October and December 2025, including Software Engineering, and all seven got full accreditation with scores between 84.8% and 97.0%, valid to 2030. I did not find NUC’s own report page for this programme, so the status rests on the university’s release.
What you study
- Foundations: programming, discrete mathematics, data structures and computer organisation.
- Core software engineering: requirements, software design and architecture, testing and quality assurance, and project management.
- Building real systems: web and mobile development, databases, human-computer interaction and team projects.
- Final year: SIWES industrial attachment, electives and a capstone project.
This is the usual outline of Nigerian B.Sc. Software Engineering degrees; Maduka has not published its own course list on a page I could read.
Careers
- Software developer or engineer (web, mobile, backend)
- Quality assurance and test engineering
- DevOps and cloud engineering
- Product and project management in tech companies
- Freelance and remote development
- Postgraduate study
Related Maduka courses
- Maduka University cut-off mark for Computer Science
- Maduka University Cyber Security cut-off mark and requirements
- Maduka University Computer Engineering cut-off mark and requirements
Mistakes Software Engineering applicants make
- Treating it as an engineering course: it is a B.Sc. in computing with Computer Science’s requirements; Chemistry is optional.
- Dropping Physics: JAMB’s combination needs both Mathematics and Physics.
- Assuming the JAMB list: check that Maduka appears under Software Engineering before you register.
- Leaving CAPS untouched: no O’level upload means no offer.
- Paying anyone outside the portal: genuine offers only show on CAPS.
If you need to switch your JAMB course, see our JAMB change of course guide.
Maduka University Software Engineering cut off mark: frequently asked questions
Is Software Engineering at Maduka a B.Sc. or B.Eng.? It is a B.Sc., offered in the computing unit alongside Computer Science and Cyber Security.
What subjects do I need in JAMB for Software Engineering at Maduka? Use of English, Mathematics, Physics and one of Biology, Chemistry, Agricultural Science, Economics or Geography, according to JAMB’s brochure.
Is Software Engineering at Maduka accredited? Yes. The university’s July 2026 press release says it received full NUC accreditation after the October to December 2025 exercise.
Can I get Software Engineering at Maduka with 155? Yes, if your subjects are right. 155 is above Maduka’s 150 minimum, and Maduka has published no higher figure for the course.
Sources and updates
The 150 national minimum, the 30 November 2026 deadline for private universities and the rule that admissions happen through CAPS come from the News Agency of Nigeria report of JAMB’s policy meeting (11 May 2026). Maduka’s 2026/2027 cut-off of 150 is from Myschool’s reprint of Maduka’s 2026/2027 admission notice (15 May 2026); its 2025/2026 wording, “the minimum approved by JAMB”, is from the 2025/2026 notice reprint (19 May 2025). The 2026/2027 fees, form fee, acceptance fee and instalment plan are from Maduka’s fee schedule as reprinted by The Vent Republic (14 May 2026); the 2025/2026 fee is from AndroidPols (16 November 2025). The programme list is from Teezab (16 July 2026) and the 2026/2027 fee schedule, cross-checked with Wikipedia. The third-party JAMB course list is from universitycourses.ng (March 2026). Maduka’s website (madukauniversity.edu.ng) and its portal pages returned no readable content when I checked. The UTME, O’level and Direct Entry requirements and the remarks for other universities are from Myschool’s reprint of the JAMB brochure for Software Engineering, under Sciences and under Engineering (checked 30 October 2026). The accreditation result, scores and validity are from Maduka’s press release on AllAfrica (29 July 2026). ESUT’s 200 minimum for Software Engineering is from our ESUT page, based on ESUT’s 2026/2027 advert. Course content and careers are described in general terms. Checked on 30 October 2026.
